MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of Maestro by Bob Woodward

Maestro

Alan Greenspan's Fed and the American Economic Boom

by Bob Woodward

Maestro by Bob Woodward X
Maestro by Bob Woodward
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2000, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2001, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Woodward's account of the Greenspan years is a remarkable portrait of a man who has become the symbol of American economic preeminence.

In eight Tuesdays each year, Federal Reserve chairman Alan Greenspan convenes a small committee to set the short-term interest rate that can move through the American and world economies like an electric jolt. As much as any, the committee's actions determine the economic well-being of every American. The availability of money for business or consumer loans, mortgages, job creation and overall national economic growth flows from those decisions. Perhaps the last Washington secret is how the Federal Reserve and its enigmatic chairman, Alan Greenspan, operate. In Maestro, Bob Woodward takes you inside the Fed and Greenspan's thinking. We listen to the Fed's internal debates as the American economy is pushed into a historic 10-year expansion while the world economy lurches from financial crisis to financial crisis. Greenspan plays a sometimes subtle, sometimes blunt behind-the-scenes role. He appears in Maestro up close as never before -- alternately nervous and calm, plunging into mathematics one moment and politics the next, skeptical, dispassionate, always struggling -- often alone.

Maestro traces a fascinating intellectual journey as Greenspan, an old-school anti-inflation hawk of the traditional economy, is among the first to realize the potential in the modern, high-productivity new economy -- the foundation of the current American boom. Woodward's account of the Greenspan years is a remarkable portrait of a man who has become the symbol of American economic preeminence.

The Maneuver1
(Oct. 27, '00)



Get some Democrats on the Fed, President Clinton instructed his economic advisers in early 1994. The entire Federal Reserve Board of Governors was made up of Reagan and Bush appointees, but now Clinton had a chance to name two governors to the seven-member board, his first Fed appointments. With interest rates rising, he wanted Treasury and the White House staff to move fast. The instructions weren't quite "Sink Greenspan," but the president wanted some counterweight to the Fed's Republican chairman, Alan Greenspan.

The search began for two academic economists who were Democrats and who would be at least sympathetic to Clinton's overall economic policies.

Robert Rubin, the director of the National Economic Council, sought out Alan Blinder, the deputy on the president's Council of Economic Advisers, one of his allies in the White House.

How about being the Fed vice chairman? Rubin asked.

Blinder, 48, was a tall, thin, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

BusinessWeek - Richard Miller
... what comes across most clearly is Greenspan's skill at the political power games that determine who survives in the cutthroat world of Washington. The author describes how the Fed chief forged close ties with Bill Clinton and other members of this Administration, including Treasury Secretary Robert E. Rubin. Although Woodward gives Greenspan too much credit for the current boom, his unparalleled access to many of the principal players makes this a worthy addition to the author's oeuvre.

New York Times Book Review - Robert Kuttner
Woodward shed[s] new light on major conflicts of the Greenspan era and demystif[ies] this most political of ostensibly technical institutions . . . Mostly, Woodward's rendition of events is scrupulous and illuminating .

Reader Reviews

Jeff Hoffman

Interesting to read this book now in light of the current stock and corporate confidence woes. I found it thought-provoking and mostly balanced.

Francess Williams


It's a good book, but I would have liked it to give more information about key terms and players...

Steve

This book was the most dullest lump of xxxx that I've ever read. Too many numbers.

MB

This book is hard to understand. Poor Poor book

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Bob Woodward

If you liked Maestro, try these:

  • Madam Secretary jacket

    Madam Secretary

    by Madeleine Albright

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Albright's memoir combines warm humor with profound insights which are weaved together to form a fascinating tapestry, both intimate and panoramic, of the life of the highest ranking woman in American history.

  • Living History jacket

    Living History

    by Hillary Rodham Clinton

    Published 2004

    About this book

    A surprisingly engaging and, at points, even compelling book...Clinton provides enough of a peek behind the curtain to keep the pages turning and presents intriguing new details on her role in shaping the policies of her husband's presidency.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.