Summary and book reviews of Dune: House Harkonnen by Brian Herbert

Dune: House Harkonnen

by Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson

Dune: House Harkonnen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 592 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 752 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Follow Leo Atreides, Duke Leto, Baron Vladimir Harkonnen, Jessica, Gurney Halleck, and Duncan Idaho on the inexorable and fascinating journey that will lead to Dune.

Dune: House Atreides, a critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller, began the exciting chronicle of events that took place before those of Frank Herbert's Dune, the bestselling science fiction novel ever. Now Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson, again working from the extensive outlines, journals, and brainstorming sessions between Brian and his father, have created Dune: House Harkonnen, the second novel in the trilogy of prequels.

Here fans of the Dune series can again follow Leo Atreides, Duke Leto, Baron Vladimir Harkonnen, Jessica, Gurney Halleck, and Duncan Idaho on the inexorable and fascinating journey that will lead to Dune, the novel that has held more than 10 million readers captive for more than thirty years.

WHEN THE SANDSTORM came howling up from south, Pardot Kynes was more interested in taking meteorological readings than in seeking safety. His son Liet--only twelve years old, but raised in the harsh ways of the desert--ran an appraising eye over the ancient weather pod they had found in the abandoned botanical testing station. He was not confident the machine would function at all.

Then Liet gazed back across the sea of dunes toward the approaching tempest. "The wind of the demon in the open desert. Hulasikali Wala."

"Coriolis storm," Kynes corrected, using a scientific term instead of the Fremen one his son had selected. "Winds across the open flatlands are amplified by the planet's revolutionary motion. Gusts can reach speeds up to seven hundred kilometers per hour."

As his father talked, the young man busied himself sealing the egg-shaped weather pod, checking the vent closures, the heavy doorway hatch, the stored emergency supplies. He ignored their signal generator ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Library Journal

Strong characterizations, consistent plotting, and rich detail provide this second of a trilogy of prequels with the same evocative power of the original novels. Libraries should anticipate a demand from old series fans as well as newcomers to the world of Dune. Highly recommended.

Booklist

Each action lays another stone in the remarkable construct of the world of Dune ... The second Dune series is proving to be exceptionally accessible and entertaining.

Reader Reviews

A Random Reader

Wow
Sorry if I offend you but I cannot comprehend how anybody could possibly give this book a 1 out of 5. I myself found the book to be incredibly addicting and found myself constantly reader more than I should have because I needed to find out what ...   Read More

drama_queen

Dark but amazing. The story was addictive, I had to keep reading; really I had no choice. I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! (smile) :)

Bob

This is a great book that reaveals and explains more about what happened in
Dune

Christelle Oben

This was one of the best books i have read so far in my high school career.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dune: House Harkonnen, try these:

  • The Children of Húrin jacket

    The Children of Húrin

    by J.R.R. Tolkien

    Published 2008

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    There are tales of Middle-earth from times long before The Lord of the Rings, and the story told in this book is set in the great country that lay beyond the Grey Havens in the West: lands where Treebeard once walked, but that were drowned in the great cataclysm that ended the First Age of the World.

  • Darwin's Children jacket

    Darwin's Children

    by Greg Bear

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The chilling portrait of humankind on the threshold of a radical leap in evolution continues in this provocative tale where "survival of the fittest" takes on astonishing and controversial new dimensions.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.