We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Dune: House Harkonnen by Brian Herbert

Dune: House Harkonnen

by Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson

Dune: House Harkonnen by Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson X
Dune: House Harkonnen by Brian Herbert, Kevin J. Anderson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2000, 592 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 752 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Follow Leo Atreides, Duke Leto, Baron Vladimir Harkonnen, Jessica, Gurney Halleck, and Duncan Idaho on the inexorable and fascinating journey that will lead to Dune.

Dune: House Atreides, a critically acclaimed New York Times bestseller, began the exciting chronicle of events that took place before those of Frank Herbert's Dune, the bestselling science fiction novel ever. Now Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson, again working from the extensive outlines, journals, and brainstorming sessions between Brian and his father, have created Dune: House Harkonnen, the second novel in the trilogy of prequels.

Here fans of the Dune series can again follow Leo Atreides, Duke Leto, Baron Vladimir Harkonnen, Jessica, Gurney Halleck, and Duncan Idaho on the inexorable and fascinating journey that will lead to Dune, the novel that has held more than 10 million readers captive for more than thirty years.

WHEN THE SANDSTORM came howling up from south, Pardot Kynes was more interested in taking meteorological readings than in seeking safety. His son Liet--only twelve years old, but raised in the harsh ways of the desert--ran an appraising eye over the ancient weather pod they had found in the abandoned botanical testing station. He was not confident the machine would function at all.

Then Liet gazed back across the sea of dunes toward the approaching tempest. "The wind of the demon in the open desert. Hulasikali Wala."

"Coriolis storm," Kynes corrected, using a scientific term instead of the Fremen one his son had selected. "Winds across the open flatlands are amplified by the planet's revolutionary motion. Gusts can reach speeds up to seven hundred kilometers per hour."

As his father talked, the young man busied himself sealing the egg-shaped weather pod, checking the vent closures, the heavy doorway hatch, the stored emergency supplies. He ignored their signal generator ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Booklist
Each action lays another stone in the remarkable construct of the world of Dune ... The second Dune series is proving to be exceptionally accessible and entertaining.

Library Journal
Strong characterizations, consistent plotting, and rich detail provide this second of a trilogy of prequels with the same evocative power of the original novels. Libraries should anticipate a demand from old series fans as well as newcomers to the world of Dune. Highly recommended.

Reader Reviews

A Random Reader

Wow
Sorry if I offend you but I cannot comprehend how anybody could possibly give this book a 1 out of 5. I myself found the book to be incredibly addicting and found myself constantly reader more than I should have because I needed to find out what ...   Read More
drama_queen

Dark but amazing. The story was addictive, I had to keep reading; really I had no choice. I LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! (smile) :)
Bob

This is a great book that reaveals and explains more about what happened in
Dune
Christelle Oben

This was one of the best books i have read so far in my high school career.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dune: House Harkonnen, try these:

  • The Children of Húrin jacket

    The Children of Húrin

    by J.R.R. Tolkien

    Published 2008

    About this book

    There are tales of Middle-earth from times long before The Lord of the Rings, and the story told in this book is set in the great country that lay beyond the Grey Havens in the West: lands where Treebeard once walked, but that were drowned in the great cataclysm that ended the First Age of the World.

  • Darwin's Children jacket

    Darwin's Children

    by Greg Bear

    Published 2004

    About this book

    More by this author

    The chilling portrait of humankind on the threshold of a radical leap in evolution continues in this provocative tale where "survival of the fittest" takes on astonishing and controversial new dimensions.

We have 5 read-alikes for Dune: House Harkonnen, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Brian Herbert More books by Kevin Anderson
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.