We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Darwin's Ghost by Steve Jones

Darwin's Ghost

The Origin of Species Updated

by Steve Jones

Darwin's Ghost by Steve Jones X
Darwin's Ghost by Steve Jones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2000, 377 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Draws on our ever-expanding scientific knowledge and the brilliant logic set out in The Origin to restate evolution's case for the twenty-first century.

Charles Darwin's masterpiece, The Origin of Species, is probably the best-known, least-read book. Unquestionably one of the most important achievements of the millennium, its publication in 1859 caused a sensation, because it forced mankind to see itself as part of the animal world--a notion that hundreds of millions still deny. Darwin's theory of common descent did for biology what Galileo did for astronomy: made it into a single science rather than a collection of unrelated facts. Those facts, however, are now a century and a half old, as are The Origin's illustrative examples and Victorian prose style. Writing as "Darwin's ghost," the well-known geneticist Steve Jones has drawn on our ever-expanding scientific knowledge and the brilliant logic set out in The Origin to restate evolution's case for the twenty-first century.

Jones has been called "the British Carl Sagan" because of his prominence as a popularizer of science. Using contemporary examples--the AIDS virus, the rules of the American Kennel Club, the sheep who never forget a face and the garbage that floats in the Pacific--he shows the power and immediacy of Darwin's great argument. Filled with anecdotes, humor and the very latest research, Darwin's Ghost is a popular, readable and comprehensive account of the science that makes life make sense.

On The Origin of Species

Introduction

According to a 1991 opinion poll, a hundred million Americans believe that "God created man pretty much in his present form at one time during the last ten thousand years." A large majority saw no reason to oppose the teaching of creationism in schools. They followed in a long tradition. A text of 1923, Hell and the High Schools, claimed that "The Germans who poisoned the wells and springs of northern France and Belgium and fed little children poisoned candy were angels compared to the text-book writers and publishers who are poisoning the books used in our schools ... Next to the fall of Adam and Eve, Evolution and the teaching of Evolution in tax-supported schools is the greatest curse that ever fell upon this earth."

Fifty pieces of legislation tried to put a stop to the subject. All failed. Undeterred, Alabama called for a note to be pasted into textbooks: "This book may discuss evolution, a controversial theory some scientists give as...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Sunday Telegraph (UK)
This is a clever book about serious ideas that can be happily read on the beach.

Sunday Times (UK)
A richly readable introduction to the science that The Origin of Species invented. Jones is a star writer [who makes] the old bones throw off their dust and dance the boogie.

The Guardian (Books of the Year)(UK)
An extraordinary ride through Darwinism, yesterday and today. Jones is in the premier league of what appears to be a new breed--brilliant scientists able and eager to share their written erudition with the rest of us.

The Independent
Hugely enjoyable. The richness is almost overwhelming, and I am awed by Jones's reading.

The Independent on Sunday
This is a delightful book, infused with wit and panache, and as enthralling in its own way as was Darwin's original....[W]onderfully conceived and gloriously executed.

The Observer Review
A thumping good read. Jones succeeds in this gargantuan undertaking.

The Spectator
The echoes of the master go elegantly beyond the mere re-use of chapter and section headings...bristles with splendidly informative illustrations and crisply executed demonstrations, liberally spiced with anecdote and curiosity. [It] will rightly be hailed.

The Times (UK)
Of the 'new versions' of great books being made available to the public, the most compelling is surely Steve Jones's Darwin's Ghost.

Reader Reviews

Rose Roberto

Darwin's Ghost is well written, interesting, and educational...in a fun way. The definition of evolution is simply "change through time" and the author uses examples from what biologists know today of genetics, DNA and molecular biology to...   Read More
Jairam Maharaj

Simply wonderful...makes simple reading of an intensely complex subject...used it as an intro to my studies of Biogeography...
srparedon

The inherently absorbing subject matter rescues this book from Jones's maddeningly poor writing style-- awkward transitions, obscure antecedents, inapt adverbs consistently detract from an otherwise compelling read.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Darwin's Ghost, try these:

  • Ten Million Aliens jacket

    Ten Million Aliens

    by Simon Barnes

    Published 2015

    About this book

    This fascinating scientific foray into the animal kingdom examines how the world's creatures - weird, wonderful, and everything in between - are inextricably linked.

  • Animal Wise jacket

    Animal Wise

    by Virginia Morell

    Published 2014

    About this book

    Noted science writer Virginia Morell explores the frontiers of research on animal cognition and emotion, offering a surprising and moving exploration into the hearts and minds of wild and domesticated animals.

We have 9 read-alikes for Darwin's Ghost, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.