Summary and book reviews of Adrian Mole by Sue Townsend

Adrian Mole

The Cappuccino Years

by Sue Townsend

Adrian Mole
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2000, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2001, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

'A terrific read ... the sort of diary that is irresistible, irreverent, revealing and impossible to put down.' Boston Globe

In the latest installment of this bestselling saga, our hapless hero is now separated from his exotic and accomplished Nigerian wife (did he really think that could last?). He still pines for his first and only true love, Pandora Braithwaite, now a Labour M.P., and works as the cook at a smart London restaurant, Hoi Polloi, which specializes in repulsive working–class food. A chance for a television series, Offaly Good!, is promising—at first. But Adrian is once again disappointed. Still, there is the possibility of a career writing cookbooks.

As his true confessions demonstrate, Adrian is making some progress. He is now a single father and determined to make things good for his three–year–old son. When, to his surprise, he finds that he has another son as well—an updated version of the Master Mole we have come to know and love—he takes responsibility for this boy, too. Life continues to take him aback, but Adrian is finally beginning to cope.

The great baby you see there is not yet out of his swaddling-clouts.
- Shakespeare, Hamlet.

True, we might never have arrived, but the fact is we did. If only people thought a little more about it, they would see that life is not worth worrying about so much.
- Lermontov, A Hero of Our Time.



Dean Street, Soho

Wedneday, April 30th 1997

I take up my pen once again to record a momentous time in the affairs of men (and, thank God, because this is intended to be a secret diary, I am not required to add 'and women').

The day after tomorrow on May 2nd, as dawn breaks, I predict that the Labour Party will just scrape in, and will form the next government. Talk of a landslide victory is hysterical rubbish whipped up by the media.

My own prediction is based on 'insider' knowledge. The insider is an actor called Fred Gipton who was in An Inspector Calls with Tony Booth, the father-in-law of our future Prime Minister. Gipton spilled the beans in Hoi ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Boston Globe

A terrific read ... the sort of diary that is irresistible, irreverent, revealing and impossible to put down.

Boston Globe

A terrific read ... the sort of diary that is irresistible, irreverent, revealing and impossible to put down.

New York Times Book Review

A writer of great skill.

New York Times Book Review

A writer of great skill.

Newsweek

Adrian Mole, Superstar, has become one of the biggest successes... Hilarious!

Booklist - Donna Seaman

Townsend continues the crisply hilarious saga of Britain's favorite fictional diarist, Adrian Mole. ...Adrian is a comic Job in a world gone mad with irony and greed. But his confused heart brims with love and good intentions, and Townsend skewers end-of-the millennium Britain with acumen and glee.

Sunday Times (London)

Sue Townsend is an absolute gem

Sunday Times (London)

Sue Townsend is an absolute gem

Author Blurb Phyllis Diller
Wonderfully hilarious... It goes beyond Catcher in the Rye. You must read it. Trust me!

Reader Reviews

Asa Nelson

A Fantastic Read!
If you’re a teenager looking for a hilarious book that addresses the many struggles of growing up and reveals even more, then The Adrian Mole Diaries is for you. Adrian is a boy growing up with a dysfunctional house, a school he dislikes, an image ...   Read More

Fran

Sue Townsend does it again!
Sue Townsend has done it again! After having read the other books in the series I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next installment. I was not disappointed! For anyone having a down day and wants cheering up, I guarantee after having read the ...   Read More

shubhamvada mathur

Two thumbs up!
Excellent book. Not just for adolescents but any age group. I could not stop smiling! It's a keeper.

Meena

I would recommend it to anyone.. one of the most funniest books of all time. Adrian continues to fight his uneventful life, and we sort of feel sorry for him somehow. But when the book is so hilarious, how can we stop laughing?

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Adrian Mole, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.