Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Personal Injuries by Scott Turow

Personal Injuries

by Scott Turow

Personal Injuries by Scott Turow X
Personal Injuries by Scott Turow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 1999, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Dec 2000, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Turow's most reverberant, most moving novel - a powerful drama of individuals struggling against all odds to escape their characters.

Robbie Feaver (pronounced "favor") is a successful personal injury lawyer with a burgeoning practice, a way with the ladies, and a beautiful wife (whom he loves) dying of an irreversible illness. He also has a secret bank account where he occasionally deposits funds that make their way into the pockets of the judges who decide Robbie's cases. Robbie is apprehended, and, in exchange for leniency, agrees to "wear a wire" as he continues to try to fix decisions. The FBI agent assigned to supervise him goes by the alias of Evon Miller. She is lonely, uncomfortable in her skin, and impervious to Robbie's charms. And she carries secrets of her own.

As the law tightens its net, Robbie's and Evon's stories converge thrillingly. Scott Turow shows us new sides of Kindle County, the world of greed and human failing he has made immortal in his previous novels, Presumed Innocent, The Burden of Proof, Pleading Guilty, and The Laws of Our Fathers. He also shows us enduring love and unexpected heroism. Personal Injuries is Turow's most reverberant, most moving novel--a powerful drama of individuals struggling against all odds to escape their characters.

Excerpt
Personal Injuries

He knew that it was wrong, and that he was going to get caught. He said he knew this day was coming.

He knew they had been stupid, he told me--worse, greedy. He said he knew he should have stopped. But somehow, each time he thought they'd quit, he'd ask himself how once more could make it any worse. Now he knew he was in trouble.

I recognized the tune. Over twenty-some years, the folks sitting in that leather club chair in front of my desk have found only a few old standards in the jukebox. I Didn't Do It. The Other One Did It. Why Are They Picking on Me. His selection, I'm Sorry, made the easiest listening. But they all wanted to hear the same song from me: Maybe I Can Get You Out of This. I said it usually, although I knew it would often prove untrue. But it's a complicated business being somebody's only hope.

This is a lawyer's story, the kind attorneys like to hear and tell. About a case. About a client. His name was Robert Feaver. Everyone ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Entertainment Weekly
With lawyerly shrewdness and planning, his books arrive on a regular three-year schedule. The extra care taken shows, too, in every paragraph, as well as in the perfectly staged plot twists. Legal fiction has turned depressingly formulaic and melodramatic lately, but Scott Turow's just gets richer and smarter. Funnier, too. Personal Injuries is the best work of his career.

Talk
Scott Turow is to courtroom literature what Harrison Ford is to action-adventures the class of the field. Thirteen years and four novels after he left the U.S. Attorney's office, he has written a novel based on his work as an Assistant U.S. Attorney with Operation Greylord, a six-year federal undercover operation that plumbed Chicago's courts for corrupt judges, lawyers, and cops. He has re-created the entire Greylord landscape in Personal Injuries and produced perhaps his best book.

Time
Personal Injuries contains some surprises that are remarkable even by Turow's inventive standards... Turow spares neither his characters nor readers maximum suspense.

Washington Post
Of all the lawyers-storytellers who have clambered onto the bestseller lists in recent years, Scott Turow is the champ.

Chicago Tribune
In his beautifully realized new novel, Personal Injuries, Scott Turow not only knows what his readers want, he delivers just about perfectly ... Turow is the closest we have to a Balzac of the fin de siecle professional class. He knows the weight of institutions and is interested in what happens when the good set out to reckon with the bad and the ugly. His characters are very much of this moment ... rogues in the know, dragged by greed and self-promotion into moral swamps, matched up against moralists who also have their price. His sense of the human comedy is laced with tragedy. Not a pretty picture, but a true one.

Wall Street Journal
A textured examination of human nature and an entertaining tale of American justice.

Kirkus Reviews
A revelation -- a subtle, densely textured legal thriller stuffed with every kind of surprise except the ones you expect. Turow is well on his way to making Kindle County the Yoknapatawpha of American law.

Publishers Weekly
There are some remarkable narrative strategies ... but readers will not be concerned with technical details, only with the rare revelation of a paradoxical personality so compelling he makes the very adroit plot almost superfluous.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Personal Injuries, try these:

We have 4 read-alikes for Personal Injuries, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Scott Turow
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...
  • Book Jacket: Somehow
    Somehow
    by Anne Lamott
    Anne Lamott knows a thing or two about love. In fact, there is so much of it exuding from her essay ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.