Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Welcome To The World, Baby Girl by Fannie Flagg

Welcome To The World, Baby Girl

by Fannie Flagg

Welcome To The World, Baby Girl by Fannie Flagg X
Welcome To The World, Baby Girl by Fannie Flagg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 1998, 467 pages

    Paperback:
    Dec 1999, 396 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Once again, Flagg's humor and respect and affection for her characters shine forth.

Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!is the funny, serious, and compelling new novel by Fannie Flagg, author of the beloved Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe (and prize-winning co-writer of the classic movie). Once again, Flagg's humor and respect and affection for her characters shine forth. Many inhabit small-town or suburban America. But this time, her heroine is urban: a brainy, beautiful, and ambitious rising star of 1970s television. Dena Nordstrom, pride of the network, is a woman whose future is full of promise, her present rich with complications, and her past marked by mystery. Among the colorful cast of characters are:

  • Sookie, of Selma, Alabama, Dena's exuberant college roommate, who is everything that Dena is not; she is thrilled by Dena's success and will do everything short of signing autographs for her; Sookie's a mom, a wife, and a Kappa forever.
  • Dena's cousins, the Warrens, and her aunt Elner, of Elmwood Springs, Missouri, endearing, loyal, talkative, ditsy, and, in their way, wise.
  • Neighbor Dorothy, whose spirit hovers over them all through the radio show that she broadcast from her home in the 1940s.
  • Sidney Capello, pioneer of modern sleaze journalism and privateer of privacy, and Ira Wallace, his partner in tabloid television.
  • Several doctors, all of them taken with--and almost taken in by-Dena.

There are others, captivated by a woman who tries to go home again, not knowing where home or love lie.

PREFACE
Elmwood Springs, Missouri
1948

In the late forties Elmwood Springs, in southern Missouri, seems more or less like a thousand other small towns scattered across America.

Downtown is only a block long with a Rexall drugstore on one end and the Elmwood Springs Masonic Hall on the other. If you walk from the Masonic Hall to the Rexall, you will go by the Blue Ribbon cleaners, a Cat's Paw shoe repair shop with a pink neon shoe in the window, the Morgan Brothers department store, the bank, and a little alley with stairs on one side of a building leading up to the second floor, where the Dixie Cahill School of Tap and Twirl is located. If it is a Saturday morning you'll hear a lot of heavy tapping and dropping of batons upstairs by the Tappettes, a troop of blue-spangled Elmwood Springs beauties, or at least their parents think so. Past the alley is the Trolley Car diner, where you can get the world's best chili dog and an orange drink for 15 cents. Just ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. This novel tells of Dena's long journey home. What does home look and sound and smell like to you? Is it a place or a state of mind?
  2. "Elmswood Springs is a town that likes itself." Do you agree with this assessment of Dena's hometown? How does Dena's opinion of the town change over the course of the novel?
  3. The Smith family talks about being able to stop time. Would you like to have this power? If you could, when would you freeze time in your own life?
  4. Aunt Elner would want to be at home with her family and friends if she knew the end of the world was coming. What would you do?
  5. What has caused Dena's identity crisis? How does she manage to keep the people in her ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Time Magazine - Jill Smolowe
....utterly irresistible. . .fast-paced.

People Magazine - Laura Jamison
Flagg's faith in the healing power of small towns and family are refreshing.

Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. Because so much of Flagg's third novel takes place in the 1970s media-celebrity echelons of New York City, it doesn't offer the regional and historical color and texture of its predecessor Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. Instead, Flagg's achievement here lies in a well choreographed story of loyalty and survival that zigzags deftly across the post-war years…..Fans may be sorry at first to leave Elmwood Springs for the big city, but even the most reluctant will get wrapped up in Dena's search for the truth about her family and her past. Also a Random House audio book.

Reader Reviews

Mrs. Marie 99

Another Good one!
I am not a big reader... To be quiet honest I do not really read at all... But when we got assigned to do an author project at school and my teacher told me to read a story by an author named Fannie Flagg... I spent hours looking at a lot of the ...   Read More
Tina

A book that truly captures your heart with the protaganist. Highly recommended.
Deirdre Graham

I happened upon Baby Girl and when I saw it had been penned by the author of Fried Green Tomatoes (an absolute favourite film) I bought it. Am I glad I did. One of those rare books I hated finishing - wanted it to go on and on. The characters are ...   Read More
Mitch

Character Time Conflict of Norma & Macky
My favorite Fanny Flagg book and just like Fried Green Tomatoes, Ms. Flagg's story line jumps effortlessly from the past to the current time. However, and I know this is being picky and I will just have to accept it, but in "Fried Green ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Welcome To The World, Baby Girl, try these:

  • The View from Mount Joy jacket

    The View from Mount Joy

    by Lorna Landvik

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    The View from Mount Joy, Lorna Landvik’s delightfully quirky and intensely moving new novel, is about a man, a supermarket, the roads not taken, and the great, unexpected pleasures found in living a good life.

  • Good Grief jacket

    Good Grief

    by Lolly Winston

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More by this author

    Filled with laugh-out-loud humor, struggles, triumphs, and plenty of midnight trips to the fridge, Good Grief is a funny, wise, and heartbreakingly poignant novel from one of fiction's freshest and most exciting new voices.

We have 5 read-alikes for Welcome To The World, Baby Girl, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Fannie Flagg
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

A library is a temple unabridged with priceless treasure...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.