Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope

Second Honeymoon

A Novel

by Joanna Trollope

Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope X
Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Trollope explores the complexities of twenty-first century family life.

Ben is, at last, leaving home. At twenty-two, he’s the youngest of the family. His mother Edie, an actress, is distraught. His father Russell, a theatrical agent, is rather hoping to get his wife back, after decades of family life. His brother, Matthew, is wrestling with a relationship in which he achieves and earns less than his girlfriend. His sister Rosa is wrestling with debt, and the end of a turbulent love affair.

Meet the Boyd family and the empty nest, twenty-first-century style.

Chapter One

Edie put her hand out, took a breath and slowly, slowly pushed open his bedroom door. The room inside looked as if he had never left it. The bed was unmade, the curtains half drawn, the carpet almost invisible under trails of clothing. There were single trainers on shelves, mugs and cereal bowls on the floor, scatterings of papers and books everywhere. On the walls the same posters hung hap­hazardly from nuggets of blue gum: a Shakespeare play from a long-ago school outing, Kate Moss in a mackintosh, the Stereophonics from a concert at Earls Court. It looked, at first glance, as it had looked for a large part of his twenty-two years. It looked as if he was coming back, any minute. Edie stepped through the chaos on the floor - ah, that's where her only bone-china mug had got to - and pulled the curtains fully apart. One side, obviously accustomed to doing this, rushed headlong to the left and slid triumphantly off the pole to the floor. Edie ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
In Brief
As actress Edie contemplates the yawning chasm threatening to engulf her now that her third and last child has flown the nest, her husband, theatrical agent Russell, quietly relishes the thought of having her to himself once more, after nearly three decades of devoted parenthood. Edie decides to tread the boards once more, landing herself a part in Ibsen's Ghosts and surprising herself with her accomplished performance. But before long all three children find themselves returning to the family home: Rosa, still struggling with the aftermath of a disastrous love affair, loses her job; Matthew's relationship with girlfriend Ruth is strained to breaking point; whilst younger brother Ben needs to give his own ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The ebb and flow of relationships is brilliantly handled by Trollope. This is a much more metropolitan crowd than her normal characters - no timid country wives here .... Trollope has perfectly captured what it takes to be a mother...continued

Full Review (649 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

Seattle Times - Melinda Bargreen
Sharply detailed subsidiary characters make this a richly imagined novel about family relationships, almost the equal of Trollope's earlier, searing Other People's Children.

The Independent (UK) - Kate Saunders
This novel is utterly absorbing, constantly surprising, and often extremely funny.

The London Times - Patrick Perrick
Trollope is the queen of the domestic dilemma .... The story is told episodically, skittering from person to person, and problem to problem, so that it’s a bit like peeking at a newspaper agony column brought fascinatingly to life. Part of the fascination lies in Trollope’s gleaming prose.

The Telegraph (UK)
For such a neat, fastidious writer, Joanna Trollope is surprisingly fond of ambiguous endings. She provides one here, an artful confection of faux-naturalism whose uncomfortable message - that a good life depends partly on self knowledge, but partly on sheer luck - is sweetened by the elegance with which it is delivered.

Books Quarterly
'Second Honeymoon' is an absorbing, beautifully balanced study of 21st-century parenthood and the difficulties of letting your loved ones go.

Kirkus Reviews
A masterpiece of the mundane....modest and unerringly real....a love song to ordinary life.

Library Journal
No one is better at conveying the manners and mores of middle-class Britain.

Publishers Weekly
Her flawed but lovable characters....save Trollope's tidily concluded latest from feeling too much like chick lit.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Joanna Trollope was born in her grandfather, Anthony Trollope's rectory in the Cotswolds in December 1943, and although her actual childhood was spent in the Midlands and in Surrey, she always felt that her real "home" was her birthplace. Joanna says — “It gave me - still gives me - not just a sense of rootedness, but a capacity to value landscape and weather and the rich life of smallish communities. It wouldn't matter where I lived now, I'd always carry that centred feeling of having come from somewhere very well defined with me.” She is the eldest of three, the mother of two daughters, the stepmother of two stepsons, and a grandmother.

After winning a tiny scholarship to Oxford, she went on to a spell ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Second Honeymoon, try these:

We have 7 read-alikes for Second Honeymoon, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Joanna Trollope
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.