Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Murder in Montparnasse by Kerry Greenwood

Murder in Montparnasse

A Phryne Fisher Mystery

by Kerry Greenwood

Murder in Montparnasse by Kerry Greenwood X
Murder in Montparnasse by Kerry Greenwood
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2004, 276 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 266 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Join Phryne Fisher, the feminist sleuth who always gets her man, on a tightly plotted maze of thrilling adventure set in 1920s Australia.

Always enticing in divine twenties fashion, Phryne, one of the most exciting and likeable heroines in crime writing today, leads us through a tightly plotted maze of thrilling adventure set in 1920s Australia.

Seven Australian soldiers, carousing in Paris in 1918, unknowingly witness a murder and their presence has devastating consequences. Ten years later, two are dead...under very suspicious circumstances.

Phryne's friends, Bert and Cec (sometimes cabbies and sometimes men for hire), appeal to her for help. They were part of this group of soldiers in 1918 and they fear for their lives and for those of the other three men. It's only as Phryne delves into the investigation that she, too, remembers being in Montparnasse on that very same day.

While Phryne is occupied with memories of Montparnasse past and the race to outpace the murderer, she finds troubles of a different kind at home. Her lover, Lin Chung, is about to be married; and the effect this is having on her own usually peaceful household is disastrous....

BookBrowse notes:

  • The setting of this opening chapter is St Kilda - a small town in Victoria, Australia, that became fashionable in the 1850s. It's about 4 miles (6 kms) from the city of Melbourne.
  • A knout (as used in the second paragraph) is a leather whip twisted with wire and hardened. It was used in Russia to flog criminals.

Chapter One

The extremely active existence we lead does not leave us leisure to devote the necessary care to the upkeep of our bodies.
- Auguste Escoffier, Ma Cuisine

The sun glared off the shop windows, the wind blew fine sand which stung the eyes. It was both chilly and sunny, a thoroughly uncomfortable combination only found in the less successful ski slopes and in Fitzroy Street, St. Kilda on this particular day in 1928.

The Hon. Phryne Fisher blinked, wiped her eyes, wished she had brought sun goggles and wrapped her sables more closely about her thin frame. With her fur coat, fur hat and Russian leather boots she looked like one of ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The year is 1928, the setting St Kilda - a fashionable town close to Melbourne, Australia, with many flashbacks to Paris in 1918. Phryne Fisher (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) is faced with two puzzles - the disappearance of a young woman about to marry a much older man and the death of two ex-soldiers that have been written off as accidental, but are anything but. When clues lead to Paris during WWI, Phyrne (who served as a volunteer ambulance driver towards the end of the war) finds memories from her past coming back to haunt her with a vengeance.

The first Phryne Fisher mystery , Cocaine Blues, was published in Australia in 1989, and there are now a total of 14 books in this popular series; but this, the 12th in the series, is the first to be available in the USA. Although this book is a complete story in its own right, I can't help feeling a little short changed coming into the series at this point because by now Phryne is surrounded by a broad compliment of dubious friends, professional acquaintances, adopted family, animals and general hangers-on; each of which, I feel sure, will have had a leading role in one or more earlier books.

Nevertheless, if you enjoy a good mystery, I recommend you browse Murder in Montparnasse. As Library Journal writes, 'a most charming, sexy, independent, and candid heroine; clever, literate dialog; and closely woven plotting will win immediate fans for this debut series.'

On a lighter note, let me leave you with a few of Phyrne Fisher's sayings, and encourage you to browse this fun book for yourself.

It is acceptable to kiss and tell, more acceptable to kiss and not tell, but entirely improper to tell and not kiss.

Smile sweetly and carry a hatpin.

A man in the kitchen is worth two in a dance-hall.

Media Reviews

Booklist - Jenny McLarin
Brimming with glamour, high life, and a hint of debauchery, Greenwood's series delivers a literary glass of champagne, lifting readers' spirits while tickling their fancies. 

Library Journal
A most charming, sexy, independent, and candid heroine; clever, literate dialog; and closely woven plotting will win immediate fans for this debut series. 

Publishers Weekly
While the narrative's prime twist stems from an artificial device, and the main villain's identity is too obvious, the charm of the setting and the characters more than compensates.

Reader Reviews

Cloggie Downunder

Phryne fans will love it!
Murder in Montparnasse is the twelfth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood. A request from the French chef/owner of Café Anatole to locate a missing prospective young bride has Phryne thinking back to her ...   Read More
NGuillon

nice as always but...
Let me first say that I do not read Phryne Fisher mysteries as crime novels but as entertaining stories that make me smile (and admire Phryne of course). Here the different mysteries are rather thin but most characters are - as always - interesting ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Murder in Montparnasse, try these:

  • The Lost Man jacket

    The Lost Man

    by Jane Harper

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    Two brothers meet in the remote Australian outback when the third brother is found dead, in this stunning new standalone novel from New York Times bestseller Jane Harper.

  • Force of Nature jacket

    Force of Nature

    by Jane Harper

    Published 2019

    About this book

    More by this author

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry, when a hiker goes missing, secrets and betrayal among friends are exposed, and Agent Aaron Falk will find out what happened.

We have 10 read-alikes for Murder in Montparnasse, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Kerry Greenwood
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Under This Red Rock
    Under This Red Rock
    by Mindy McGinnis
    Since she was a child, Neely has suffered from auditory hallucinations, hearing voices that demand ...
  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.