Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Vote For Larry by Janet Tashjian

Vote For Larry

by Janet Tashjian

Vote For Larry by Janet Tashjian X
Vote For Larry by Janet Tashjian
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2004, 240 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2005, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In this very smart, witty novel, Tashjian brings the political world to the forefront and explores it from many different points of view. Ages 14+.

After falling off the wagon and becoming what he so clearly and strongly resisted--a consumer--Josh Swensen (aka Larry) finds himself in a hyper-paranoid state of no return. That is, until he's kidnapped and coaxed into resurfacing as his old persona. Before long, Larry is back on the scene with much more on his mind than a gospel Web site--this time Larry wants to affect change in government. What starts out as a campaign to get the younger population to vote turns into a run for the presidency. Can Larry really take on George Bush?

In this very smart, very witty novel, Janet Tashjian brings the political world to the forefront and explores it from many different points of view.

Excerpt
Vote for Larry

Beth told me later that what we had done didn't change anything, that we had important work to do, that she was serious about Simon . . . blah, blah, blah.

But everything changed.

I don't want you to think I reverted to some dopey guy following Beth around like a puppy. I was cool, gave her a boost up out of the hole after the rain stopped, waved goodbye with a smile.

You know when you finally do something you've been obsessed with for years, and somehow afterward it feels anticlimactic, not worthy of all the hype?

This wasn't one of those times.

The term "slow-motion" doesn't begin to describe the care I took in playing back my afternoon with Beth. Her kissing my chest, my muddy hands pulling her toward me, the sky opening up and pouring down on us afterward.

It was messy.

It was beautiful.

It ruined my vision quest.

I went home and ate a three-egg omelet with half a jar of salsa, then took the longest, hottest ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

It's not as good a book as 'The Gospel According to Larry' and because Tashjian chose to place the characters in the middle of the 2004 USA Presidential Election, elements of the book already appear not so much dated as slightly out of kilter - because the political front runners of the book aren't the front-runners of the election at this time. However...Tashjian (through the voice of Josh/Larry and his friends) raises many issues about the US political system, which teenagers may find themselves thinking about for the first time, and the comprehensive list of resources in the back of the book will give them the tools they need to learn more.

Media Reviews

Teen People
Hilarious.

Bookpage
Vote for Larry is a crash course in the rough and tumble world of national politics, and teen readers will get a taste of just what it takes in idealism and courage to achieve such goals.

Horn Book
Once again, Tashjian manages to take a fairly unbelievable premise and make it seem more than fairly believable. The fast-paced story and Josh's witty narration will keep readers hooked.

Pages Magazine
Whether young readers tap into their inner activist through Larry or not, they're in for a great story.

Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. Readers will get a charge out of Josh/Larry's fiery speeches and outrageous platform, and startling facts plus a resource list in the back (with voter registration Web sites) provide plenty of fuel for those motivated by the hero's call to action. Ages 14-up.

Booklist - Ilene Cooper
Gr. 7-10. Fans of the first book won't be disappointed in Josh/Larry's further escapades.

Kirkus Reviews
Tashjian's lively, comic prose, coupled with her characters' anger at politics as usual in this country, may just inspire young readers to become young voters. This can stand on its own, but those new to Larry's world will want to read the previous installment as well.

School Library Journal - Angela J Reynolds
Gr 9 Up. The story itself is good, but is marred by sequel syndrome, unnecessary frills, and jumpy writing. Larry's fans will eat it up, but it needs Gospel to carry its weight.

Reader Reviews

Emz

Great
I have read a lot of books and I got to say it is in my top ten favorites. This book made me want to make a change in how I look at things. It is very inspirational. I love this book, and I think you would to.
Leia

Age: 14 When I first started reading this book I wasn't really intrested but once I got in the middle of this book it reached in and took my heart out. This is my favorite book now, and I recomend it for teens of all ages! This is such a beautiful ...   Read More
Eliot

A 16-year-old's View of Vote For Larry.

This is one of those rare books (i.e. Harry Potter, Holes) that are originally aimed at young adults that doesn't talk down to them. It's great to see Larry back in action, and fans who did not know whether The ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Vote For Larry, try these:

  • The Privilege of Youth jacket

    The Privilege of Youth

    by Dave Pelzer

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More by this author

    The fourth volume in Pelzer's memoirs charts the crucial turning point in his life, from high school to a world beyond the four walls that were his prison for so many years- continuing the story that began with "A Child Called 'It'"

  • Stargirl jacket

    Stargirl

    by Jerry Spinelli

    Published 2002

    About this book

    More by this author

    A celebration of nonconformity; a tense, emotional tale about the fleeting, cruel nature of popularity--and the thrill and inspiration of first love. Ages 12+

We have 5 read-alikes for Vote For Larry, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Janet Tashjian
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Who Said...

Second hand books are wild books...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.