Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Half-Life by Jonathan Raymond

The Half-Life

by Jonathan Raymond

The Half-Life by Jonathan Raymond X
The Half-Life by Jonathan Raymond
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2004, 355 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2005, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A debut novel set in the Pacific Northwest of the 1820s and 1980s - two friendships separated by generations but bound together by a dark mystery.



A dazzling debut novel about two friendships separated by generations but bound together by a dark mystery.

Cookie Figowitz is the cook for a party of volatile fur trappers trekking through the Oregon Territory in the 1820s, desperate to find their way to the newly created Hudson Bay Company before their meager supplies run out. As he forages for food one evening with the hopes of placating the increasingly restless men, Cookie stumbles over Henry Brown, a man on the run from violent Russians looking to settle an old score. Cookie takes Henry in, hiding him from the trappers, and the two begin an unlikely friendship that will take them from the virgin territory of the West all the way to China and back again.

Tina Plank is a teenager who has been unhappily transplanted to a Pacific Northwest commune in the 1980s. The only other girl her age within five miles is Trixie Volterra, whose troubled past only adds to her allure. Thrown together by circumstance, the two become fast friends, and are soon hard at work trying to make an elaborate movie on a shoestring budget. When, in the midst of filming, two skeletons are unearthed on the property, the lives of Cookie and Henry, Tina and Trixie converge in unexpected, startling ways.

The Half-Life, with extraordinary power and grace, reveals the pleasures and heartaches that bind us to one another.

Excerpt
The Half-Life

BETWEEN TWO RIDGES carved by a silver creek, in a forest of black fir trees, there was a place where the hills came to a shallow bowl and the earth went soft. The mountain heather and sword fern thinned at the edge of an open meadow, and a field of smooth cordgrass began, which led to the banks of a stagnant marsh.

In the summer, dragonflies flickered over the marsh's mirrored plane and frogs croaked from its damp shadows, while many-headed pussy willow bobbed in the wind. In the autumn, arrows of geese landed there, and during the spring mosquitoes rose to the surface at dusk, where hordes of bats would descend to pluck them from the air. When it was hot, the water lay still and reflected the clouds; when it rained, its skin came alive with dilating rings of energy.

At the bottom of the marsh's black water, hidden from view, lay two bodies, one with a crack in its skull and the other with a shattered chest.

Over time, the seasons cut through the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Vanity Fair
In Jonathan Raymond's marvelous debut novel, The Half-Life, two teenage girls living on a commune in the Pacific Northwest discover a pair of skeletons, unearthing a mystery as rich as the history of the Oregon Territory itself.

Booklist
Raymond, in his first novel, seamlessly links the two narratives with elegant and often haunting prose. The characters are finely drawn, and Raymond poses them against a seductively beautiful landscape. The dramatic tension is well managed, and the unfolding stories are emotionally stirring. Raymond is clearly a writer of enormous promise.

Kirkus Reviews
Raymond's impressive debut lays out stories linked by shared ground near Portland, Oregon..... Unglamorous and sad, but compelling.

Publisher's Weekly
Friendship is the theme of this ambitious and assured debut novel...When tragedy strikes for both sets of friends, it feels as natural as the landscape, surely and deftly closing Raymond's circle of ambiguity, loss, loyalties and love.

Author Blurb Andrew Sean Greer, author of The Confessions of Max Tivoli
Jonathan Raymond is a marvel; The Half-Life is both extraordinarily beautiful and impossible to put down. Wise to the crossed wires of history, to the urgencies of friendship and love, Raymond's novel is not to be missed.

Author Blurb Jeffrey Lent, author of In the Fall and Lost Nation
With The Half-Life Jonathan Raymond has achieved a remarkable debut—a novel of great accomplishment and lyric dimensions. The two tales upon which the narrative is strung weave effortlessly together, sending the reader not on two but multiple journeys through the fabric of life, the nature of human endeavor and a profound and moving meditation on the frailties and strengths of the heart. A wonderful novel, most strongly recommended.

Author Blurb Todd Haynes, director of Far from Heaven
A hugely engrossing excavation of history and friendship, The Half-Life is a debut novel of astounding perception and breadth. Unlocking two stories from the black-shadow mystery of the Pacific Northwest, Raymond deftly melds past and present, the exotic and colloquial, the panoramic and the internal, to illuminate the inherent frailty of being human and our universal longing to connect.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Half-Life, try these:

  • My Name Is Leon jacket

    My Name Is Leon

    by Kit De Waal

    Published 2017

    About this book

    For fans of The Language of Flowers, a sparkling, big-hearted, page-turning debut set in the 1970s about a young black boy's quest to reunite with his beloved white half-brother after they are separated in foster care.

  • Into the Savage Country jacket

    Into the Savage Country

    by Shannon Burke

    Published 2016

    About this book

    An adventure which illuminating how extreme circumstances expose the truth about the natures of individual men and their bravery, loyalty, and friendship.

We have 8 read-alikes for The Half-Life, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.