Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Another Day In Paradise by Carol Bergman

Another Day In Paradise

International Humanitarian Workers Tell Their Stories

by Carol Bergman

Another Day In Paradise by Carol Bergman X
Another Day In Paradise by Carol Bergman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Oct 2003, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Humanitarian workers define courage in the 21st century. This book gives voice to their stories, to their ability to survive in the face of death, to their humanity to one another and to those they seek to serve.

From the world's most troubled corners, true stories of courage and compassion.

Sudan, Rwanda, Somalia, Afghanistan, Bosnia, the Gaza Strip … Places that evoke scenes of unimaginable suffering and hardship, the human condition at its worst. But they are also places that highlight humanity at its best--the capacity for generosity, self-sacrifice, and compassion. Among those who live at the intersection of these realities are thousands of international humanitarian workers--dedicated men and women from many countries who leave behind their own comfort and security to face dangers, sorrows, and brutality that most of us cannot imagine. Carol Bergman sought them out and encouraged them to tell their stories--not to add to the chronicles of horror, but as a witness and a challenge. Some of them are heroes; others, ordinary men and women who could not sit idly by while others were suffering.

PREFACE

This book began over dinner at a small Italian trattoria in Manhattan, far away from the world's continuing conflicts and natural disasters. Sitting opposite me was Iain Levine, a lithe and gentle man, who was Amnesty International's Representative to the United Nations. My plan was to interview Iain for a magazine article about humanitarian workers. Several had turned up in my writing workshops over the years, and I had met others socially. I found them compelling, and complicated.

Iain is a nurse whose first job in the field was with Mother Theresa in Calcutta. The son of Orthodox Jews, he grew up in the north of England, and speaks with a lilting drawl. Philosophical musings and stories spill out of him rapidly. Then he will fall silent and listen attentively, or ask questions about the New York Yankees, his adopted team.

One of Iain's stories was about Foday Sankoh, the butcher of Sierra Leone. Iain had just returned from that war-torn country,...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Onefortytwo.com
If you have ever wondered about the work of a Peace Corps volunteer, or the stories of those affected by natural disaster or war, use Another Day in Paradise as your starting point; it is well worth the read.

Time Magazine - Maryann Bird
Bergman set out to produce a book of conventional reportage. But when she read British-born nurse Iain Levine's previously unpublished stories about his 20 years doing humanitarian work in India, Sudan and Mozambique, Bergman realized that aid workers could tell their tales better than she could. Her book became a collection of lived experiences, and is richer for it... Bergman's eclectic compilation is blessed with an eloquent forward by John Le Carré who salutes 'those brave enough to visit life's hells on foot instead of on the television screen'.

The Independent (UK newspaper)
Another Day In Paradise brings together front-line testimony from Afghanistan, Sudan, Rwanda, Somalia, Bosnia and the Gaza Strip - places where th best and the worst of humanity is on display - gathered by the journalist Carol Bergman , herself a child of refugees from genocide. John le Carre's foreword pays tribute to a group of people 'self-humbling in the face of monstrous disaster' who suppress 'useless pity in favour of doing something practical'

The Spectator (UK) - Caroline Moorehead
This anthology is really a celebration of the newish breed of international aid workers, the doctors, nurses, nutritionists, logisticians and engineers, who build camps, dispense food, bring water, negotiate truces, interview prisoners and curb looters on behalf of such organisations as Oxfam, Medecins san Frontieres and the International Rescue Committee.... it is hard not to come away from [this] anthology not just admiring her contributors but intrigued by the nuances of feeling that they bring to their work.

The Globe and Mail (Canada)
Their common theme is that, despite the growing dangers to front-line workers, the world cannot neglect the victims of war and famine, and must not be terrorized into abandoning them. The timing of the book launch couldn't be more appropriate.

America Magazine - Claire Schaeffer-Duffy
Another Day in Paradise is, ironically, a record of life lived in the corners of hell. While the cruelties described are immense, so too are the human resilience and courage documented in the book's pages. We need, especially now, to read these descriptive narratives from the people who risk their lives on the ground while politicians and diplomats negotiate in velvet-curtained rooms. Their observations will help clear our heads of any delusions about war being merely a policy option with some collateral damage. More important, the examples of practical compassion recorded in Another Day in Paradise remind us of a truth about ourselves that is often lost when killing becomes commonplace Human beings were made to nourish and preserve life.

Author Blurb From the Foreword by John le Carré
What is it that makes this anthology of personal experience in the field so particularly moving? Is it the courage and dedication of the contributors? To a point. Is it their self-humbling in the face of monstrous disaster? That too. But for my money, it is their self-control. It's their suppression of useless pity in favor of doing something practical. It's their determination, in the foulest conditions that man and nature can dream up between them, to make human decency work rather than weep; to do whatever they can, again and again, knowing it can never be enough.

Author Blurb Madame Sadako Ogata,author of The Man Who Tried to Save the World
Gives the reader a good sense of the challenges involved [in humanitarian work]--and why the effort matters.

Author Blurb Roy Offenheiser, President, Oxfam America
Humanitarian workers define courage in the 21st century...This book gives voice to their stories, to their ability to survive in the face of death, to their humanity to one another and to those they seek to serve.

Author Blurb Scott Anderson, author, The Man Who Tried to Save the World
In this extraordinarily powerful collection, we hear in the humanitarian workers' own words their testimonials of life and death, of compassion and simple courage, tales which should both haunt and inspire us.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Another Day In Paradise, try these:

  • Saving Italy jacket

    Saving Italy

    by Robert M. Edsel

    Published 2014

    About this book

    An unforgettable story of epic thievery and political intrigue, Saving Italy is a testament to heroism on behalf of art, culture, and history.

  • I Shall Not Hate jacket

    I Shall Not Hate

    by Izzeldin Abuelaish

    Published 2012

    About this book

    The extraordinary, riveting story of a Palestinian doctor who, rather than seek revenge after witnessing his three daughters' deaths by Israeli tank shells, continues his humanitarian call for the people of the region to come together in understanding, respect, and peace.

We have 13 read-alikes for Another Day In Paradise, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.