Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Blacklist by Sara Paretsky

Blacklist

by Sara Paretsky

Blacklist by Sara Paretsky X
Blacklist by Sara Paretsky
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2003, 416 pages

    Paperback:
    Aug 2004, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A story of secrets and betrayals that stretch across four generations--secrets political, social, sexual, financial: all of them with the power to kill.

This is a story of secrets and betrayals that stretch across four generations--secrets political, social, sexual, financial: all of them with the power to kill. Eager for something physical to do in the spirit-exhausting wake of 9/11, V.I. accepts a request from an old client to check up on an empty family mansion; subsequently surprises an intruder in the dark; and, giving chase, topples into a pond. Grasping for something to hold on to, her fingers close around a lifeless human hand.

It is the body of a reporter who had been investigating events of forty-five years earlier, during the McCarthy era, and V.I.'s discovery quickly sucks her into the history of two great Chicago families—their fortunes intertwined by blood, sex, money, and the scandals that may or may not have resulted in murder all these years later. At the same time, she inadvertently becomes involved in the story of a missing Egyptian boy whose possible terrorist connections make him very much sought after by the government. As the two cases drive her forward—and then shockingly tumble together—she finds that wealth and privilege, too, bear a terrible price; and the past has no monopoly on patriotic scoundrels. Before everything is over, at least two more people will lie dead . . . and V.I. might even be one of them.

A novel as passionate, complex, and powerfully entertaining as its acclaimed heroine, Blacklist is a stunning achievement.

Chapter 1
A Walk on the Wild Side

The clouds across the face of the moon made it hard for me to find my way. I'd been over the grounds yesterday morning, but in the dark everything is different. I kept stumbling on tree roots and chunks of brick from the crumbling walks.

I was trying not to make any noise, on the chance that someone really was lurking about, but I was more concerned about my safety: I didn't want to sprain an ankle and have to crawl all the way back to the road. At one point I tripped on a loose brick and landed smack on my tailbone. My eyes teared with pain; I sucked in air to keep from crying out. As I rubbed the sore spot, I wondered whether Geraldine Graham had seen me fall. Her eyes weren't that good, but her binoculars held both image stabilizers and night-vision enablers.

Fatigue was making it hard for me to concentrate. It was midnight, usually not late on my clock, but I was sleeping badly these days--I was anxious, and feeling alone.

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Bookpage
...a compelling mystery and an indictment of the McCarthies of all era. Who could ask for more?

Newsweek
Sara Paretsky turns the genre upside down.

People
V.I. is A-1

Booklist
A stellar entry in a celebrated series. This enticing mix of history and mystery showcases sharp, clever, vulnerable V.I. at her best.

Library Journal - Leslie Madden
This may be Paretsky's most complex novel to date. It will have particular resonance post-9/11, as readers recognize more easily what it was like for past generations to live in fear. Highly recommended for popular reading collections.

Publishers Weekly
Top-notch. A riveting exploration of guilt and fear

Kirkus Reviews
Paretsky takes up for the little guy once more. A compelling tale of secrets that can't stay buried.

Reader Reviews

THarold

Paretsky hits another homer
Superb. One of the best VI's!!!!
P. McNeish

Blacklist
Loved this book, found it hard to put it down!
Josephine Anna Kaszuba Locke


V. I. at top form, classy, sassy and spirited…

Dzien dobry, Sara Paretsky and Detective Warshawski… from a survivor - thank you for noting 9/11...

So, V.I., you are off on another assignment in BLACKLIST. Hired by long-time client, Darraugh Graham to...   Read More
dawn bazely

Blacklist - the latest V. I. Warshawski novel. As usual, Sara Paretsky has not just written a great detective novel, but has also tackled far broader issues - in this case everything from terrorism, current attitudes towards muslims, the blacklists ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Blacklist, try these:

  • A Dark Redemption jacket

    A Dark Redemption

    by Stav Sherez

    Published 2013

    About this book

    A Dark Redemption introduces DI Jack Carrigan and DS Geneva Miller as they investigate the brutal rape and murder of a young Ugandan student

  • Killer Smile jacket

    Killer Smile

    by Lisa Scottoline

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More by this author

    A stunning new tale filled with witty dialogue, vibrant characters, and breakneck pacing, in which true-life history reinforces Scottoline's hallmark themes of justice and family.

We have 4 read-alikes for Blacklist, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Sara Paretsky
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine Capó Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.