We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of White Male Infant by Barbara D'Amato

White Male Infant

by Barbara D'Amato

White Male Infant by Barbara D'Amato X
White Male Infant by Barbara D'Amato
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2002, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2003, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

McSweeny and his wife dearly love their adopted Russian son - but when medical tests indicate that the boy is not Russian they are plunged into the dark, complex world of international adoption. The results threaten to destroy their happiness - and their lives - as they explode a powder keg of political intrigue.

Surgical pathologist Dooley McSweeny and his wife dearly love the son they adopted from Russia four years ago. But when medical tests indicate that their little boy could not possibly have come from Russia, the couple is plunged into the dark, complex, and emotionally fraught world of international adoption. Who is their son? Where did he come from? How did he come to them? The answers to these questions threaten to destroy their marriage, their happiness - and their lives - as they explode a powder keg of political intrigue.

Chapter One

White male infant, health perf. 6 mo., hair blnd. Eyes bl., bidding ends 1/19, avail. 1/26

1]
Beekman Hospital
New York City
Early November


There is nothing stranger than a familiar place turned strange. Dr. Dooley McSweeney was in his accustomed place of work, which had been his home away from home five days a week for nine years, but today everything was changed. Dooley was a surgical pathologist at Beekman Hospital in Manhattan. Like most hospital surgical pathologists, he dealt primarily with tissue samples –- chunks of necrotic tissue from patients in the emergency department, swabs of infected material, biopsy specimens, tissue taken from patients in operating rooms where the surgeon was looking for a tumor-free margin and wanted to know quickly whether there was any malignancy in the specimen, and hundreds of other pieces of flesh from living people where his analysis made a difference to their survival. Hospital pathologists generally didn't...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Chicago Sun-Times
A muckraking thriller that from beginning to end will keep readers gasping with wonder and outrage.

Booklist - Connie Fletcher
The separate strands of this complex but riveting story start coming together when the couple find evidence suggesting their son was not orphaned but kidnapped at the same time the CNN reporter discovers her cameraman brutally slain in their Russian hotel. Another D'Amato stunner.

Kirkus Reviews
Like a contemporary Anne Perry, D'Amato looses the dogs of suspense against an all-too-plausible scenario of epidemic social injustice. The heart-rending, page-turning result is irresistible.

Publishers Weekly
This versatile author has always had the ability to raise goose bumps but in this stand-alone thriller she makes our spines absolutely tingle.

Reader Reviews

BookBrowse.com

This credible and fast moving plot will fill all but the most hardened of readers with a sense of righteous indignation and suspense that will keep them turning the pages long after bedtime. Read an exclusive excerpt of Chapter One and Two by ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked White Male Infant, try these:

  • Did You Ever Have A Family jacket

    Did You Ever Have A Family

    by Bill Clegg

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    The stunning debut novel from bestselling author Bill Clegg is a magnificently powerful story about a circle of people who find solace in the least likely of places as they cope with a horrific tragedy.

  • Sister Mine jacket

    Sister Mine

    by Tawni O'Dell

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    Shae-Lynn Penrose is former police officer with a closet full of miniskirts, a sharp tongue, and a tendency to deal with men by either beating them up or taking them to bed. But when the younger sister she thought was dead arrives on her doorstep, followed closely by a gun-wielding Russian gangster, a shady New York lawyer, and a desperate ...

We have 4 read-alikes for White Male Infant, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Barbara D'Amato
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.