Summary and book reviews of The Month of The Leopard by James Harland

The Month of The Leopard

by James Harland

The Month of The Leopard
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jun 2002, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

An economist with one of London's leading investment banks finds himself unraveling a mystery which dates back over half a century - all clues lead to the Leopard Fund led by a cold, ruthlessly calculating financial kingpin.

Tom Bracewell is an economist with one of London's leading investment banks. When his Estonian wife vanishes, leaving only a brief note, Tom gradually comes to realize he knows very little about the woman he'd married.

In Tom's search for an explanation, all clues seem to lead to the Leopard Fund, one of the world's most powerful financial predators, headed by the charismatic Jean-Pierre Telmont. Somehow, Tom's wife, Tatyana, and Telmont are linked.

Joining forces with Sarah, a recent employee at the Fund, Tom unwittingly finds himself drawn into the biggest financial story of the millennium as he and Sarah start to unravel a mystery which dates back over half a century. And in order to stay alive before they finally discover the truth, the two of them must remain one jump ahead of one of the world's keenest financial - and criminal - minds.

Chapter One

Sarah looked up at the numbers on the screen, a hard, impersonal row of pixels, each of them coloured red. The figures started to streak into each other as her vision blurred. I've just lost one million dollars, she told herself, the words sinking through her brain and stabbing at her chest. Not a great start to my first day in this job.

The clocks on the wall, displayed the time in London, New York, Tokyo, Paris and Frankfurt. Just after 10.00, she noted. I have been an employee of the Leopard Fund for precisely one hour, and I have begun losing more money than most people make in a lifetime.

This, she told herself, can only get better.

Sarah had arrived at its gleaming modern offices of the Fund at 7.45 that morning, precisely on time. Before stepping inside she had walked around the block twice to steady her nerves. The badge on the label the security guard gave her said Miss S. Turnbull, and it was from that the man who met her at the lobby had identified...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Flat characterizations, gratuitous violence, unconvincing motivation for Telmont and a too-hasty denouement. But the book is a page-turner for anyone interested in high-stakes financial shenanigans.

Kirkus Reviews

Tension, pitifully lacking in the first two thirds of this grand adventure for MBAs, finally arrives, but nonbankers will probably have bailed out by then.

London Financial News (UK)

Harland has pulled off a rare treat - a story about the financial markets that is, for once, riveting and filled with characters that are instantly recognisable.

The Observer

A cracking good read. James Harland is obviously set to take the world of literature by storm.

Daily Mail (UK)

An excellent thriller.

Coventry Evening Telegraph (UK)

The Month of the Leopard is a modern thriller, with all the suspense of a John Buchan or John Le Carre yarn. If you like an old-fashioned thriller, Ian Fleming's original James Bond books and are intrigued by global finance and changes in the former USSR, then this is for you.

Newcastle Journal (UK)

In The Month Of The Leopard, the chief villain of the piece is Jean-Pierre Telmont, a cold, ruthlessly calculating financial kingpin with a serious Napoleon complex and a mission to collapse the economies of Eastern Europe by rigging the markets. He is a superbly drawn villain.

Sunday Business

A fabulous novel about a financial trader searching for his missing wife and uncovering mysterious secrets about her along the way.

Reader Reviews

Davina - BookBrowse.com

Although some of the plot twists somewhat stretched credibility, the story as a whole moved at a good clip, keeping me engrossed until the end. The Month of The Leopard delivers action and adventure in a setting that few thriller writers have the ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Month of The Leopard, try these:

  • The Innocent jacket

    The Innocent

    by Harlan Coben

    Published 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A twisting, turning, emotionally charged story, and a compelling tale of the choices we make and the repercussions that never leave us.

  • The Summons jacket

    The Summons

    by John Grisham

    Published 2002

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Ray heads south, to his hometown to meet with his dying father but 'The Judge' dies too soon leaving behind a shocking secret known only to Ray and perhaps someone else.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.