We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Don't Look Back by Amanda Quick

Don't Look Back

by Amanda Quick

Don't Look Back by Amanda Quick X
Don't Look Back by Amanda Quick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2002, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2003, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Lovers and partners-in-crime investigators Lavinia Lake and Tobias March continue their exciting newfound relationship, with its delicious mix of risky business, rising passion, and now--murder.

In this most entrancing tale of mystery and romance by the New York Times bestselling author Amanda Quick, lovers and partners-in-crime investigators Lavinia Lake and Tobias March continue their exciting newfound relationship, with its delicious mix of risky business, rising passion, and now--murder.

As if a head for business and a nose for trouble aren't enough to distinguish fiercely independent Lavinia Lake from the other women of London's fashionable Claremont Lane, there is one more feature to set her apart. Lavinia is also well versed in the practice of mesmerism, an extraordinary gift that far surpasses mere charm and physical appeal. Nobody knows this better than the usually coolheaded Tobias March, who seems to have fallen hopelessly under her spell. Fortunately for all, however, Lavinia uses her powers for good. And ever since a tragedy involving one of her subjects, she has even retired them in favor of her work with Lake and March, a joint venture providing "discreet private inquiries for individuals of quality." Celeste Hudson, the stunningly beautiful young wife of a family friend and fellow mesmerist, would surely count herself among such individuals--were she still alive, that is. While mythology's Medusa could turn men to stone, lovely Celeste was more accustomed to turning them to jelly. In fact, unbeknownst to her husband, Howard, the ambitious Celeste was planning to use her talents to forge a new future in Society--one that would not include him. Sadly, her plans were cut short when she was murdered. Only a gentleman's cravat wound around her lovely neck remained for evidence--small compensation for the strange and priceless bracelet that may have been snatched from her wrist as she drew her last breath.

As a result, Lake and March are soon in Howard Hudson's employ on the trail of the killer. But Tobias is convinced the dashing widower is more interested in tracking down the missing relic. If so, Howard is not alone. Any number of ruthless types are after the very same antiquity, whose centerpiece is an unusual blue cameo of inestimable value and supposed legendary powers--powers of immeasurable worth to anyone in Howard's line of work.

Together, Lake and March undertake a tantalizing investigation that leads them from the glittering ballrooms of the ton to London's seediest taverns to a mesmerist whose therapies include treating ladies suffering from "hysteria" by a most unconventional method--and, not least of all, to the darkest reaches of men's psyches. Along the way, Don't Look Back becomes a completely mesmerizing read as the irrepressible Lavinia and Tobias mix business with pleasure....

Chapter One

Tobias watched Lavinia walk up the steps of Number 7 Claremont Lane and knew at once that something was very wrong. Beneath the deep brim of her stylish bonnet, her face, always a source of intense fascination for him, showed signs of an odd, brooding tension.

In his admittedly limited experience, Lavinia rarely brooded over a problem or a setback. She was more inclined to take immediate action. Much too inclined to do so, in his considered opinion. Reckless and rash were words that came to mind.

He watched her from the window of the cozy little parlor, every muscle in his body tightening with a battle-ready tension. He had no patience with premonitions and other such metaphysical nonsense, but he trusted his own hunches, especially when it came to matters concerning his new partner and lover. Lavinia looked nothing short of shaken. He knew better than most that it took a great deal to rattle her composure.

"Mrs. Lake is home," he said, glancing at the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The Denver Post
If you start an Amanda Quick book in the late afternoon, you'll probably spend the night with it.

Booklist - Mary Frances Wilkens
The romantic charm that makes Quick so revered is much in evidence here--her Regency-era characters are worldly beyond their time, and yet they fit the period exquisitely.

Kirkus Reviews
Mesmerizing mystery in Regency-era London, featuring the lovers and private investigators of Slightly Shady (2001).... Delightful mix of mystery, sensuality, and the historical detail that makes Quick's Regencies such a pleasure.

Publishers Weekly
Though the suspense is low-key throughout, Quick nevertheless pulls the reader along with her eminently readable blend of humor, sharp dialogue and well-paced plotting.

Author Blurb Elizabeth Lowell
A witty, gripping, absolutely must-read for those who love mystery with a passion.

Author Blurb Iris Johansen
Everything Amanda Quick writes is an instant classic. I love this author!

Author Blurb Kay Hooper
Amanda Quick delivers a heady and satisfying mix of romance and suspense. Nobody does it better!

Author Blurb Lisa Gardner
I had a wonderful time reading [Don't Look Back]....What fun, what fun, what fun! This action-packed tale, brimming with witty characters, vivid historical detail, and tautly woven intrigue kept me guessing until the very end. I loved the book and can't wait to brag to my mother that I've already read the latest Amanda Quick.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Don't Look Back, try these:

  • The Watcher jacket

    The Watcher

    by Charlotte Link

    Published 2015

    About this book

    An immersive, atmospheric crime novel from the multi-million-copy bestselling author, Charlotte Link.

  • The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair jacket

    The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair

    by Joel Dicker

    Published 2014

    About this book

    The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair is a fast-paced, tightly plotted, cinematic literary thriller, and an ingenious book within a book, by a dazzling young writer.

We have 6 read-alikes for Don't Look Back, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Amanda Quick
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...
  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.