BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Reviews of The Silence that Binds Us by Joanna Ho

The Silence that Binds Us by Joanna Ho

The Silence that Binds Us

by Joanna Ho
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Jun 14, 2022
  • Paperback:
  • Dec 2023
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Book Summary

Joanna Ho, New York Times bestselling author of Eyes That Kiss in the Corners, has written an exquisite, heart-rending debut young adult novel that will inspire all to speak truth to power.

Maybelline Chen isn't the Chinese Taiwanese American daughter her mother expects her to be. May prefers hoodies over dresses and wants to become a writer. When asked, her mom can't come up with one specific reason for why she's proud of her only daughter. May's beloved brother, Danny, on the other hand, has just been admitted to Princeton. But Danny secretly struggles with depression, and when he dies by suicide, May's world is shattered.

In the aftermath, racist accusations are hurled against May's parents for putting too much "pressure" on him. May's father tells her to keep her head down. Instead, May challenges these ugly stereotypes through her writing. Yet the consequences of speaking out run much deeper than anyone could foresee. Who gets to tell our stories, and who gets silenced? It's up to May to take back the narrative.

Joanna Ho masterfully explores timely themes of mental health, racism, and classism.

1

My mom has her own personal arsenal of silence, and she wields it like the Force, bending me to her will. Her silence can be a flashing yellow light, warning me to proceed with caution, or a magnifying glass she uses to study me like I'm some kind of alien species. Most often, her silence is a hippo, pregnant with disappointment. She can brandish that hippo at me while gracefully hosting a dinner party, chatting up guests, and offering them tea.

Which is what she did on the night Danny died.

Just as the Wus arrived for dinner, Danny bounded down the stairs with all the grace of a six-foot water buffalo in basketball shorts, bellowing, "May-May! Have you seen my Star Wars socks?" He froze when he saw the Wus, then burst out laughing. "Everyone loves Star Wars, right?" Then he whipped around and ran back up to his room. He was extra scatterbrained his last few months, which was a little weird.

My mom emerged from the kitchen, perfectly pressed, with pearls of steam glistening in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The depiction of May's normally steadfast mother temporarily succumbing to overwhelming depression is especially impactful, as it shows how May is forced to acknowledge the chilling reality that her parents are only human and cannot shield her from the injustices of an outside world where she and her family are but a small minority. When May resolves to publicly fight back against Nate's dangerous rhetoric, she must do so bearing responsibility for the consequences. Her exploration soon expands to dovetail with the identities of Tiya and Marc, who recount their own experiences as the children of Haitian immigrants growing up around prejudice in America. When May meets their fellow members in the Black Student Union at school, she is exposed to an ever-diverse and sometimes conflicting array of personal narratives, some of which are sympathetic to the struggles of the Asian community and others that are not. The dialogues she holds with certain members are purposefully uncomfortable and expose mutually unresolved disagreements, which historic activists like Yuri Kochiyama — one BSU student points out — have striven in the past to overcome in both communities...continued

Full Review (1003 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by David Bahia).

Media Reviews

BookPage
Bestselling picture book author Ho's first YA novel is a deeply felt portrayal of a family shattered by tragedy and a thoughtful depiction of how injustice plays people against one another—and themselves—in order to perpetuate itself. In the end, The Silence That Binds Us finds its way through heartbreak to hard-won hopefulness and healing.

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
The array of issues in this story is sensitively and beautifully handled, and May is an appealing character who moves through a complicated range of realistic emotions, including anger, fear, guilt, and jealousy. A grieving teen fights Asian hate by finding her voice in this complex, timely story.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
A grieving Chinese American teen combats the model minority myth and its harm in Ho's potent YA debut...With a layered, sensitive voice, May confronts her parents' silence surrounding Danny's depression and their complacency around maintaining the status quo. Using complex characterizations and intense dialogue, Ho's weighty novel delves into themes of racism, classism, loss, and healing.

Booklist
Inspired by the recent rise in hate crimes against AAPI…Ho's story of inclusion, diversity, and social action rings true. Maybelline is a multifaceted narrator whose drive to right wrongs and stand up to injustice deserves applause. Ho illuminates both activism and mental health in marginalized communities, showing that even a bright, young achiever can experience depression without anyone knowing.

School Library Journal
A powerful, hopeful YA debut…May's journey through personal and familial grief is poignant and questions of power and privilege are explored with nuance that will spark conversation among teen readers

Author Blurb Abigail Hing Wen, New York Times bestselling author of Loveboat, Taipei
Zinger after zinger, Joanna pierces us with the truth we can't ignore even as she cocoons us in love. Just like May, she's taking back the narrative with her powerful pen.

Author Blurb Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
The Silence That Binds Us is a propulsive reminder that race-based discrimination takes a multitude of forms, all of them insidious and traumatic. I adored this ornately carved window into the core of shared humanity. A fascinating exploration of what happens when deeply rooted cultural norms collide with privilege-centered notions of 'fairness.' Read and re-read. Then read it again.

Author Blurb Stacey Lee, New York Times bestselling author of The Downstairs Girl
A held-breath of a novel that finds courage amidst brokenness, and holds a candle to the dark.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book



The Freedom Swimmers

May Chen, the main character in Joanna Ho's The Silence That Binds Us, explores her identity through her family heritage, including the experiences of her paternal grandmother, who arrived in Hong Kong as a young refugee from mainland China. Faced with formidable hardships during the Cultural Revolution, she left everything behind and swam across four miles of shark-infested waters in the dead of night. While itself fictional, this description reflects the historical reality of about one million Chinese refugees who risked their lives to make similar crossings into Hong Kong between the 1950s and 1980s.

Dapeng Bay (aka "Mirs Bay"), where May's grandmother crossed, was one of three established escape routes to Hong Kong. The alternatives ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Silence that Binds Us, try these:

  • The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen jacket

    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen

    by Isaac Blum

    Published 2023

    About this book

    The Chosen meets Adam Silvera in this irreverent and timely story of worlds colliding in friendship, betrayal, and hatred.

  • Four for the Road jacket

    Four for the Road

    by K J. Reilly

    Published 2023

    About this book

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower meets The End of the F***ing World in this dark young adult comedy about four unlikely friends dealing with the messy side of grief who embark on a road trip to Graceland.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Silence that Binds Us, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!