MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope

Second Honeymoon

A Novel

by Joanna Trollope

Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope X
Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2006, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Trollope explores the complexities of twenty-first century family life.

Ben is, at last, leaving home. At twenty-two, he’s the youngest of the family. His mother Edie, an actress, is distraught. His father Russell, a theatrical agent, is rather hoping to get his wife back, after decades of family life. His brother, Matthew, is wrestling with a relationship in which he achieves and earns less than his girlfriend. His sister Rosa is wrestling with debt, and the end of a turbulent love affair.

Meet the Boyd family and the empty nest, twenty-first-century style.

Chapter One

Edie put her hand out, took a breath and slowly, slowly pushed open his bedroom door. The room inside looked as if he had never left it. The bed was unmade, the curtains half drawn, the carpet almost invisible under trails of clothing. There were single trainers on shelves, mugs and cereal bowls on the floor, scatterings of papers and books everywhere. On the walls the same posters hung hap­hazardly from nuggets of blue gum: a Shakespeare play from a long-ago school outing, Kate Moss in a mackintosh, the Stereophonics from a concert at Earls Court. It looked, at first glance, as it had looked for a large part of his twenty-two years. It looked as if he was coming back, any minute. Edie stepped through the chaos on the floor - ah, that's where her only bone-china mug had got to - and pulled the curtains fully apart. One side, obviously accustomed to doing this, rushed headlong to the left and slid triumphantly off the pole to the floor. Edie ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
In Brief
As actress Edie contemplates the yawning chasm threatening to engulf her now that her third and last child has flown the nest, her husband, theatrical agent Russell, quietly relishes the thought of having her to himself once more, after nearly three decades of devoted parenthood. Edie decides to tread the boards once more, landing herself a part in Ibsen's Ghosts and surprising herself with her accomplished performance. But before long all three children find themselves returning to the family home: Rosa, still struggling with the aftermath of a disastrous love affair, loses her job; Matthew's relationship with girlfriend Ruth is strained to breaking point; whilst younger brother Ben needs to give his own ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The ebb and flow of relationships is brilliantly handled by Trollope. This is a much more metropolitan crowd than her normal characters - no timid country wives here .... Trollope has perfectly captured what it takes to be a mother...continued

Full Review (649 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

Seattle Times - Melinda Bargreen
Sharply detailed subsidiary characters make this a richly imagined novel about family relationships, almost the equal of Trollope's earlier, searing Other People's Children.

The Telegraph (UK)
For such a neat, fastidious writer, Joanna Trollope is surprisingly fond of ambiguous endings. She provides one here, an artful confection of faux-naturalism whose uncomfortable message - that a good life depends partly on self knowledge, but partly on sheer luck - is sweetened by the elegance with which it is delivered.

The London Times - Patrick Perrick
Trollope is the queen of the domestic dilemma .... The story is told episodically, skittering from person to person, and problem to problem, so that it’s a bit like peeking at a newspaper agony column brought fascinatingly to life. Part of the fascination lies in Trollope’s gleaming prose.

The Independent (UK) - Kate Saunders
This novel is utterly absorbing, constantly surprising, and often extremely funny.

Library Journal
No one is better at conveying the manners and mores of middle-class Britain.

Kirkus Reviews
A masterpiece of the mundane....modest and unerringly real....a love song to ordinary life.

Publishers Weekly
Her flawed but lovable characters....save Trollope's tidily concluded latest from feeling too much like chick lit.

Books Quarterly
'Second Honeymoon' is an absorbing, beautifully balanced study of 21st-century parenthood and the difficulties of letting your loved ones go.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Joanna Trollope was born in her grandfather, Anthony Trollope's rectory in the Cotswolds in December 1943, and although her actual childhood was spent in the Midlands and in Surrey, she always felt that her real "home" was her birthplace. Joanna says — “It gave me - still gives me - not just a sense of rootedness, but a capacity to value landscape and weather and the rich life of smallish communities. It wouldn't matter where I lived now, I'd always carry that centred feeling of having come from somewhere very well defined with me.” She is the eldest of three, the mother of two daughters, the stepmother of two stepsons, and a grandmother.

After winning a tiny scholarship to Oxford, she went on to a spell ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Joanna Trollope

If you liked Second Honeymoon, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.