Reading guide for The Green Age of Asher Witherow by M. Allen Cunningham

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Green Age of Asher Witherow

by M. Allen Cunningham

The Green Age of Asher Witherow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2004, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2005, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Setting is so central to The Green Age of Asher Witherow that it almost becomes a character. Why is the natural landscape of the Diablo Valley so important, especially to the younger characters in the novel?

  2. Several myths, legends and systems of belief are mentioned in the novel. There is the traditional Protestant Christianity of Reverend Parry and the Nortonville residents; there is Josiah Lyte's own unique version of Christianity; there is the Hinduism that influences him during his childhood in India; there are the Native American legends of Indian tribes that first named the mountain and the Celtic myths and stories of Asher's Welsh ancestors. Do these "underpinnings" make the events of the story clearer or more puzzling to you?

  3. Sarah Norton is a disturbing character in the novel. As a midwife (and, in Anna's case, an abortionist), she is suspected by some people in Nortonville of being a witch. She lives alone, apart from her husband, and her solitary activities include gathering Indian artifacts and planting a new cottonwood tree for each child she delivers. Why do you think the author "drew" her this way?

  4. The coal miners of Nortonville are a proud people. What seems to be the nature of that pride, and what are its main sources?

  5. Asher's mother, Abicca, is among the many citizens of Nortonville who believe the young minister, Josiah Lyte, is ungodly and dangerous (though her repeated attempts to keep Asher away from him fail). But in his conversations with Asher, Lyte doesn't seem so much dangerous as different. In your opinion, does Josiah Lyte pose a real threat to the town?

  6. Why is Josiah Lyte so interested in Asher? Is it simply because the boy is a gifted student, or is there more to it than that? When Asher tells Lyte that he killed Thomas Motion, why does Lyte refuse to tell anyone?

  7. Thomas Motion teaches Asher to see in the dark. It is an ability that Asher must struggle to learn. This ability abandons both Asher and Thomas once they are underground (which leads to Thomas's death). Why can't they see in the dark there? Later, Asher discovers that Anna Flood can also see in the dark. Why do you think she already has this gift?

  8. What draws Asher to Anna Flood? Why is Anna so certain from the start that they will be friends? How do the events of the story cause their relationship to develop and change?

  9. The Green Age of Asher Witherow is a historical novel, with many realistic details of nineteenth-century California and the mining town of Nortonville. Yet certain elements of the story are more magical than real: the young characters' ability to see in the dark; the flowers Asher sees sprouting from frozen ground at several funerals; the mysterious characters of Josiah Lyte and Sarah Norton. Why do you think the author chose to include these elements of magic and mystery?

  10. The elder Asher gives us hints about how his life proceeded between the time Nortonville's mining industry declined and he left the town until the present time (1950) when he is writing his story. What do you imagine may have happened to him in the years in between? What do you think has driven him to write the story of his early years in Nortonville?

Suggested Reading
D.H. Lawrence, Sons and Lovers
Richard Llewellyn, How Green Was My Valley
Tawni O'Dell, Coal Run
John Steinbeck, East of Eden
William Faulkner, Light in August
Charles Frazier, Cold Mountain
Donald Harington, With
Toni Morrison, Song of Solomon
Kiki Delancey, Coal Miners' Holiday
Russell Freedman, Kids at Work: Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor
Barbara Freese, Coal: A Human History

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Unbridled Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.