MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reading guide for Moon Brow by Sara Khalili, Shahriar Mandanipour

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Moon Brow by Sara Khalili, Shahriar Mandanipour X
Moon Brow by Sara Khalili, Shahriar Mandanipour
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Apr 2018, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Jamie Samson
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. How does the narration, alternating between two angel scribes that sit on Amir's shoulders,  shape your reading experience? Why do you think the author chose to write the novel this  way?
  2. Apart from the innovative narrative technique, ?Moon Brow ?is also a story that plays with time  and space. How does the non-linear progression of the narration align with the story and its  protagonist?
  3. How do the descriptions of Amir's environment—his home, the garden, the mountains, the  hospital—interplay with those of his wartime traumas, physical and psychological?
  4. What is the importance of Baba Shahu's character in Amir's journey? Is he a metaphor?
  5. How is Amir's quest to find his the remains of his arm like or unlike a traditional hero's  journey? How do the other characters—Reyhaneh, Agha Haji, Amir's mother—fit into it?
  6. What symbolic function does Amir's family garden serve?
  7. What do you think of the story of Khazar?
  8. Women play a central, if conflicted role in Amir's present and his past. How would you  describe Amir's relationships with women, and how do they change?
  9. "Moon Brow" comes from an old Persian folktale that, in a sense, is the Persian version of  Cinderella?: in Moon Brow's story, her father convinces her to kill her own mother so her  father can marry someone else. His new wife becomes her cruel stepmother, who treats the girl  as a servant. When she helps a monster at the bottom of a well, the girl receives a glowing  diamond crescent on her forehead as a reward. Why do you think Mandanipour chose this title  for his novel? Could the novel be considered a modern folktale?
  10. How might Agha Haji be a symbol or a metaphor for the Islamic Revolution and its  limitations?
  11. Mandanipour used to be the chief editor for a literary magazine that was banned in Iran, and  many of his stories have been censored in his homeland since then. How do you feel his  experiences with censorship come through in this narrative, both in terms of language and  character?
  12. If you were to categorize this novel into a genre, which one would you pick? Why?
  13. How did reading this novel alter your perceptions of Iran, the Islamic Revolution, and the Iraq-Iran war?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Restless Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Iran-Iraq War

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.