BookBrowse Reviews Miracles, Inc. by T. J. Forrester

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Miracles, Inc.

A Novel

by T. J. Forrester

Miracles, Inc. by T. J. Forrester X
Miracles, Inc. by T. J. Forrester
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


Forrester's debut novel tells the story of a charismatic slacker in love with Harley Davidsons and a beautiful woman who quotes poetry

Throughout Miracles, Inc., T. J. Forrester adroitly juggles our estimation of his death row protagonist/narrator. Is Vernon L. Oliver really a murderer? Or is he an innocent man who has been framed? Can we trust his telling of the story? Or is he a prevaricator, fabricating a fantasy in order to gain our sympathy? Does he have any redeeming qualities? Or is he simply a garden-variety sociopath? This combination of uncertainty and possibility is what keeps us turning the pages. Because, darn it anyway, despite everything, we kind of like Vernon L Oliver.

Sure, he is a swindler. We know that from the get-go. He freely admits to feeling no remorse over posing as a faith healer in order to con cash out of people desperate for a miracle. "Hope," he notes as he passes the collection plate during a Tabernacle Carnival's healing service, "That's what we sold twice a day, and this congregation was about to get a major dose." But that is just the beginning, small time stuff compared to the millions he will eventually rake in via his Miracles, Inc. televangelist network.

It probably goes without saying that Oliver is a phony. He doesn't buy what he's selling for one minute, even when he's about to step onstage before a crowd of thousands at a revival in Guatemala City: "God, the Holy Spirit and Pastor Vernon Oliver had come to visit. An unholy trinity wrapped up inside one big lie." And before services he snorts lines of coke to help amplify his own, already impressive, image before the crowds.

On the other hand, Oliver does possess a few redeeming qualities. A man who can command the adoration, to say nothing of the pocketbooks, of millions is nothing if not charming. But, beyond this easy charisma, there is also his unswerving loyalty to and love for beautiful but complicated Rickie Terrell as well as his fond memories of his deceased sister. He's a generous philanthropist, and he's smart, with what they used to call a photographic memory. We like smart people. But can we trust them? Especially those on death row?

Finally we have to ask whether Oliver might be just plain crazy, driven there by years of isolation inside a six-by-ten cell. It certainly wouldn't be the first time a person became psychotic while awaiting his/her own certain death. No spoilers here, though. Read it. Decide for yourself. Forrester's wizardry at creating a truly complex character makes reading this book a thoroughly amusing mental exercise.

About the Author
AuthorT. J. Forrester has been a fisherman, a subsistence farmer, a bouncer, a window washer, and a miner. He is one of the few hikers in the world to thru-hike the Appalachian Trail, the Pacific Crest Trail, and the Continental Divide Trail. He has written fiction since 2001, and his stories have appeared in numerous literary journals. Forrester also edits Five Star Literary Stories, an online site that brings the best fiction published on the web to a new audience for both reading and review.

Reviewed by Donna Chavez

This review first ran in the February 3, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Death Row Syndrome

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Miracles, Inc., try these:

  • The Miracle Girl jacket

    The Miracle Girl

    by Andrew Roe

    Published 2016

    About this book

    A multi-faceted, multi-voiced debut novel that is a personal and heartfelt-chronicling of a family in flux, trying to find their individual and collective way-and also tells a larger, cultural story.

  • Snakewoman of Little Egypt jacket

    Snakewoman of Little Egypt

    by Robert Hellenga

    Published 2011

    About this book

    More by this author

    A novel packed with wit, substance, and emotional depth, Snakewoman of Little Egypt delivers Robert Hellenga at the top of his form.

We have 5 read-alikes for Miracles, Inc., but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Hello Beautiful
    Hello Beautiful
    by Ann Napolitano
    Ann Napolitano's much-anticipated Hello Beautiful pulls the reader into a warm, loving familial ...
  • Book Jacket: The West
    The West
    by Naoíse Mac Sweeney
    It's become common for history books and courses to reconsider the emphasis on "Western Civilization...
  • Book Jacket
    A Death in Denmark
    by Amulya Malladi
    Can a mystery novel be informative, intriguing and deeply comforting all at once? Amulya Malladi ...
  • Book Jacket
    Shrines of Gaiety
    by Kate Atkinson
    A few years ago, magazines ran pieces about how the 2020s were likely to be the 1920s all over again...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Paper Names
    by Susie Luo

    A propulsive and sweeping story of family, identity and the American experience—for fans of Jean Kwok and Mary Beth Keane.

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Such Kindness

30 Copies to Give Away!

Few writers paint three-dimensional characters with such verve and humanism.
Booklist (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.