Archives of "The BookBrowse Review": Reviews, previews, back-stories, news

The BookBrowse Review

February 21, 2018

Celebrate Black History Month with the spectacular An American Marriage by Tayari Jones which spotlights the problem of Black incarceration. Stay up late in the night reading a great suspense novel such as Sunburn by Laura Lippman or The Wife Between Us. Curl up with a paperback. Choose Golden Hill or History is All You Left Me, among others. Happy reading!

February 07, 2018

Well, we've got another six weeks of winter left. And there's no better way to get through it than curled up with a good book! We love the intimacy of The Friend and the energy of Brass, If you're looking for a non-fiction escape, Timekeepers will keep you busy exploring our obsession with time! The air may be cold outside but these books - and many more - are sure to warm you up!

January 24, 2018

Because variety is the spice of life, we make sure that you'll always find it at BookBrowse--and in our ezines. Looking for mysteries and thrillers? Check out the gripping Grist Mill Road and the psychological suspense debut, The Chalk Man. In the mood for nonfiction? We recommend I Contain Multitudes and Immune, which both other engaging dives into the human body. These are just a handful of the many titles to explore in this issue. Enjoy!

January 03, 2018

Ring in the new year with a whole stash of wonderful new books including The Immortalists based on an unusual premise, and three novels from small presses: Wolf Season, The Mannequin Makers and The Kites. We also feature a roaring BookBrowse favorite, Ginny Moon, recently released in paperback; and The Dry which won our 2017 Best Debut Award and is our first Book Club read of the year. Happy New Year and wishing you plenty of great reading!

December 06, 2017

'Tis the season for the annual BookBrowse Awards. To add to your reading and shopping list, we present the 2017 winners and finalists so you'll have plenty of good reading to dive into during the holiday season and beyond. If you're making a list and checking it twice, this would be a great place to start. We wish you and yours plenty of merry. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

November 15, 2017

Plenty of sumptuous feasting on books is on tap with this issue. You can't go wrong with a tour of the South in Wiley Cash's The Last Ballad or Daniel Alarcon's haunting new The King Is Always Above the People. Veteran author Louise Erdrich is also back with the dystopian Future Home of the Living God so there's plenty to pick from over Thanksgiving break. Pile your plate high with paperbacks including the Man Booker shortlisted History of Wolves. Happy Thanksgiving and happy reading!

November 01, 2017

Tragic histories and secrets get aired in some of the engaging novels in this issue including in Isabel Allende's new book, In the Midst of Winter. Never Coming Back explores family secrets while Solar Bones is the summation of a life, mysteries and all. Our paperback section includes more opportunities to dig around with suspense novels such as Coffin Road by Peter May and Clare Mackintosh's I See You.

More Back Issues

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.