Archives of "The BookBrowse Review": Reviews, previews, back-stories, news

The BookBrowse Review

September 21, 2016

A great story offers fresh new insights and sometimes an unexpected perspective. Amor Towles' A Gentleman in Moscow does just that, as does a new book about the Chinese American experience, The Fortunes. A more microscopic perspective occupies center stage in the non-fiction volume, I Contain Multitudes. Don't miss Under the Udala Trees, a hypnotic story set in Nigeria, now released in paperback. Come join us for a discussion of this novel and happy reading!

September 07, 2016

Looking for books that speak to humanity's strong resilience? Mischling, a story about twins who survived the depravity of the Holocaust, is one of our many features that qualify, as is Colson Whitehead's The Underground Railroad. Enjoy the last of summer with The Fly Trap, a spotlight of a curious obsession, now released in paperback or make time to ponder with John Banville's The Blue Guitar also in our paperback lineup.

August 24, 2016

The human ability to transcend limitations, both physical and mental, is ably showcased by many books in this issue, including The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, where the aftereffects of Chernobyl takes a physical toll on its characters. In Hot Milk, a young study-abroad student must try to find independence despite being the primary caretaker for her physically challenged mother. New paperbacks from authors we love such as Margaret Atwood and Jonathan Franzen complete our lineup.

August 03, 2016

Life's experiences are often mirrored in literature as the many compelling books in this issue demonstrate. Popular author Arturo Perez-Reverte is back with What We Become, while a young woman returns to her childhood home and a tragic accident that shaped her life, in Arrowood. New in paperback are Anthony Marra's The Tsar of Love and Techno, set in Chechnya and Russia; as well as Jade Dragon Mountain, a sparkling whodunnit unraveling in 18th-century China. Jump in and happy reading!

July 13, 2016

Spice up your reading routine with the diverse treats in this issue. We offer narrative nonfiction with The Dragon Behind the Glass, historical fiction with A Certain Age, and an alternate history of America in Underground Airlines. Stock up on new paperback releases such as Bull Mountain, winner of the 2015 BookBrowse Best Debut Novel award and Circling the Sun, a fine example of historical fiction with a spunky heroine at its center. With so many choices, you'll find plenty to keep you in books for a while. So dive in!

June 22, 2016

As readers we delight both in the joy of reacquainting ourselves with our favorite authors, veterans who churn out one great book after the other, and in discovering new writers who show great promise. This issue features selections from both these categories with books from Nobel Laureate, Herta Muller; Julian Barnes and Richard Russo among established industry greats and work such as Homegoing from debut author Yaa Gyasi. A healthy crop of new paperbacks includes Among the Ten Thousand Things and a rollicking ride along The Oregon Trail. Happy reading!

June 01, 2016

Large presses and small. We look high and low for the books to feature in BookBrowse. This issue's selection, including Flannery, The Seed Collectors and Quiet Neighbors, is a perfect sampling of recommended literature from small and independent publishing houses. We have mysteries such as Death in Brittany and Bad Country to keep you company poolside this summer, now released in paperback. As always, we hope you enjoy our carefully curated finds. Happy reading!

More Back Issues

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.