Søren Kierkegaard: Background information when reading Either/Or

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Either/Or

by Elif Batuman

Either/Or by Elif Batuman X
Either/Or by Elif Batuman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    May 2022, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rachel Hullett
Buy This Book

About this Book

Søren Kierkegaard

This article relates to Either/Or

Print Review

Sketch of Soren KierkegaardBorn in 1813 in Copenhagen, Søren Kierkegaard was a Danish philosopher and theologian best known for his critical discourse on the Christian faith, which solicited both critics and admirers while he was alive. Known today as the "father of existentialism," he was one of the first philosophers to delve into themes that would be further explored in the existentialist movement (the subjectivity of human existence, and the question of authenticity, or the degree to which one's actions dovetail with their values).

He was the seventh and final child of a wealthy family. His father, a retired businessman, led a somber life, and Kierkegaard grew up under the shadow of a strange tale that he often told, about having once cursed God as a child. He spent the rest of his days intensely guilt-ridden about this, and his piety and melancholic demeanor affected Kierkegaard's outlook on life from an early age. (His father believed that God would kill all seven of his children before they reached age 33, the age at which Jesus Christ was crucified; presumably hearing this prophecy was also troubling to young Kierkegaard, and in fact five of the seven children did die young.) Kierkegaard enrolled in the University of Copenhagen's theological department in 1830, but did not finish his studies until 1841. In 1840 he became engaged to a Danish woman named Regine Olsen, but less than a year later, he broke the engagement for nebulous reasons, claiming only that he would not be able to make her happy. His failed relationship with Olsen hung over him for the rest of his life. In addition to the influence she had over his philosophical works (he often wrote about young women, as well as the theme of sacrifice), Kierkegaard never married, and in his will he left all of his possessions to Olsen.

Some of Kierkegaard's notable works include Either/Or (1843), Fear and Trembling (1843), The Concept of Anxiety (1844), and The Sickness Unto Death (1849). He used pseudonyms early in his career (as he did not wish for readers to compare his personal life to his philosophical ideals), but he later began publishing under his own name.

Elif Batuman considers Either/Or extensively in her novel of the same name. First published under a pseudonym, Kierkegaard's Either/Or is an 800-page tome split into two volumes, each of which is narrated by two different characters. The first volume, which explores the concept of living an aesthetic life, is narrated by a young man called "A," who sees boredom as the root of all evil. This half of the book also includes a section called "The Seducer's Diary" (often read today in isolation from the rest of the work, which Kierkegaard had not intended), in which a separate narrator manipulates a girl, Cordelia, into falling for him, and then manipulates her into breaking off the engagement. This is all done for the seducer's entertainment rather than for sexual gratification. (Some reviews considered "The Seducer's Diary" to be a fictionalization of Kierkegaard's treatment of Regine Olsen.)

The second half of Either/Or, which considers the ethical life, is narrated by a character referred to as Judge Vilhelm. Vilhelm argues that the aesthete from the first volume, A, has failed to become a self, and insists that while an ethical life need not be devoid of aesthetics, ethics must always take precedence. In presenting these two volumes as halves of a single whole, Kierkegaard does not ask the reader to choose between the aesthetic life and the ethical life, but rather to consider how either aesthetics or ethics serve someone attempting to live a religious life; a question which characterized many of his later writings.

Sketch of Søren Kierkegaard, courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Filed under People, Eras & Events

Article by Rachel Hullett

This article relates to Either/Or. It first ran in the May 18, 2022 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...
  • Book Jacket: Mercy Street
    Mercy Street
    by Jennifer Haigh
    Jennifer Haigh's Mercy Street centers around a Boston clinic that provides abortion services. The ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Carolina Moonset
by Matt Goldman
An engrossing novel about family, memories and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.