Mermaids and Water Spirits Around the World: Background information when reading Skin of the Sea

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Skin of the Sea

by Natasha Bowen

Skin of the Sea by Natasha Bowen X
Skin of the Sea by Natasha Bowen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2021, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 26, 2022, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Michelle Anya Anjirbag
Buy This Book

About this Book

Mermaids and Water Spirits Around the World

This article relates to Skin of the Sea

Print Review

Golden statue of Yoruba deity Yemoja as a mermaid resting on rocksSimi, the main character in Natasha Bowen's Skin of the Sea, is a Mami Wata, a water deity from West African mythology who is described in the novel as having a mermaid form. While the red-headed Ariel of Disney fame might be the dominant image of what a mermaid looks like for many people, they come in many forms from all over the world, and many different storytelling traditions. The Yoruba deity Yemoja is often pictured as a mermaid, and Bowen cites this as a source of inspiration for her take on a mermaid story.

Hans Christian Andersen's "The Little Mermaid" did much to solidify the image of what mermaids are and whose story traditions they belong in, as did Disney's later film adaptation. European concepts of mermaids have heavily influenced the contemporary imagination, but even these are more varied than most people realize. They include the German Lorelei; the French Melusine; the Merrows of Irish folklore and the selkies of tales from Scotland and the Orkney Islands, beings who live as seals in the sea but can shed their skins to become human on land.

However, mermaids and similar water spirits can be found in folklore cultures around the world, especially in those that arose near bodies of water. These spirits are often quite unlike the European versions that the term "mermaid" may connote. They can be malevolent or benevolent, and in their different forms (i.e., reptilian, snake-like, or fish-like) have been woven into other contemporary fantasy books and films. For example, fans of the Harry Potter series might be familiar with the appropriation of the term Nagini as the name of Voldemort's snake. And in the related Fantastic Beasts book and movies, we learn Nagini was once a woman who could turn into a snake. Nagini and Nāga are the names of divine creatures who appear in Hindu, Buddhist and Jain stories from South and Southeast Asia, that are depicted as a snake transforming into a human, a human wrapped in snakes, or as a giant snake that dwells near or in a body of water. Rowling also borrows the Kappa as one of the magical creatures Hogwarts students learn about, writing them as Japanese water demons that strangle humans. However, in Japanese folklore, Kappa are characterized as both tricksters and healers.

It is important to know that mermaids and their parallel water spirits appear across time as well as culture and language. The sirens faced by Odysseus are just one example of beautiful and murderous creatures who waited to lure humans to a watery grave. In The Penguin Book of Mermaids, Cristina Bacchilega and Marie Alohalani Brown write about how the otherness and hybridity of mermaid bodies can reflect human anxieties about water as a potentially destructive force. However, in some modern retellings, they are a symbol of fluidity, as seen in Jessica Love's ode to self-expression, the picture book Julián is a Mermaid.

Oannes is a fish-human hybrid figure from Babylonian mythology known as a keeper of knowledge, and there are Persian stories that include mermaids and sea fairies as well. African water spirits, unsurprisingly, also reappear in the Caribbean, in stories such as "Ti Jeanne" and "Maman Dlo's Gift" from Trinidad and Tobago. And not all water spirit tales feature mermaids in the traditional half-human, half-fish form. In Hawaiian culture, tales of mo'o (the word for lizard) are more common. Mo'o are reptilian, and seen as guardian creatures, and mermaids are sometimes considered kin to mo'o. If looking more broadly than a red-haired teenager who just "wants to be where the people are," there are many, many different stories of mermaids and water spirits to explore, ranging from Indigenous North America, to the Philippines, to the Mediterranean and across Northern Europe, all of which are sure to stoke the imagination.

Statue of Yemoja in Ilê Odó Ogé, Salvador, Brazil by Paul R. Burley, courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Filed under Cultural Curiosities

This article relates to Skin of the Sea. It first ran in the February 2, 2022 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.