BookBrowse General Information Pages: About BookBrowse

Introduction To BookBrowse

BookBrowse -- Your guide to exceptional books

Tens of thousands of books are published each year in the USA alone. Even if you read a book a day you could only read a tiny fraction of these. So, how on earth do you choose which are worth reading in your valuable free time?

Newspaper and magazine reviews are useful, but they're just one person's opinion, and you can't browse the book for yourself; and if you visit many bookstores these days you'll be hard pressed to find somebody with the knowledge to guide you to anything other than the bestsellers or the coffee-bar! As for websites - there's a proliferation of information about books on the web but have you got the time to wade through all the noise to find the books that are of interest to you? And are you sure that the information you're getting is free of bias?

Just as the cornflakes displayed on the supermarket aisle-ends are there because the manufacturer paid a premium for the spot, many of the books that you'll see on the front tables in your local chain bookstore, or on the lead pages of well known online retailers, are paid promotions - which is why the same old bestselling authors get so much of the space. BookBrowse does not sell books and we do not accept payments to feature books editorially, so we're free to recommend books on merit and not because of the size of the publisher's marketing budget.

BookBrowse's concept is very simple but, to the best of our knowledge, unique. We are a book recommendation service on a mission to seek out the diamonds in the rough from the approximate 100,000 books published each year (in the USA alone), so that you can spend your time reading books you truly enjoy - and stop wasting time and money on books that you set aside half-finished, or worse - stay up late to finish, only to find that you can barely remember them the next day!

When we find a book that we think our members and visitors will enjoy we gather together all the information you need to decide if it's right for you, including an excerpt, the range of media reviews (abbreviated to each reviewer's essential opinion to minimize repetition and plot spoilers), author biography and, more often than not, an author interview and discussion guide.

If you like to read 'quality' books and enjoy reading a variety of genres you're very likely to appreciate BookBrowse - among our recommendations you'll find novels that whisk you to interesting times and places, thrillers that are more than just 'page turners', nonfiction that informs as it entertains, and much else. Everytime you visit you'll find an eclectic, informative and interesting selection of titles, from established writers to first time authors, from a wide range of genres, both fiction and non-fiction - so you can browse the cream of the crop without having to wade through shelves of also-rans.

You can browse some of BookBrowse for free but we reserve a number of premium features for our members. Become a member for just $35 a year and you'll get:
  • Our interactive online-magazines with in-depth reviews and the stories behind the books.
  • Hand picked 'readalike' suggestions from all featured books to other books you're likely to enjoy.
  • The ability to browse for books by time period, setting and a wide range of themes.
  • The opportunity to receive free books.
  • Straight talk about the books before they're even published via our monthly issue of "BookBrowse Previews" which profiles 80-100 notable books publishing the next month.
  • And much more

Publishers estimate that one-third of books bought are never read and a further one-third are put aside unfinished. How much money and time could a $35 annual subscription to BookBrowse save you?

Find out more and browse sample issues here.


Librarians: "BookBrowse for Libraries" provides your patrons with remote and in-library access to all that BookBrowse has to offer for a great deal less than other 'readers' advisory' services! In our April 2009 survey, of the 1501 library patrons who visit their library at least once a month 75% said they'd like their library to subscribe to BookBrowse; and 95% of librarians thought the cost of 'BookBrowse for Libraries' was 'about right' or better, with 62% saying they thought it offered good to great value for money. Find out more.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.