MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Why do we say "I wouldn't touch him with a ten-foot pole"?

Well-Known Expressions

I wouldn't touch him with a ten-foot pole

Meaning:

I wouldn't want to be near or associated with that person. The expression can also be used to refer to a thing or event.

Background:

Phrases.org.uk finds an early use of this expression in an 1843 edition of The Covenant and Official Magazine of the Grand Lodge of the United States, edited by James L Ridgely: "That […] aristocracy of our country... would not condescend to touch a poor man with a ten foot pole."

The earliest reference to the related expression, "wouldn't touch with a barge-pole" is found 50 years later in an 1893 entry of Lady Monkswell's diary: "It will be a long while before any political party touches Home Rule again with the end of a barge pole."

(Lady Monkswell, wife of Robert Collier, 2nd Baron Monkswell, is one of the best known diariest of the Victorian era. As the wife of a liberal politician she was acquainted with, and referenced in her diaries, many luminaries of the day including Benjamin Disraeli, Mark Twain, Aldous Huxley and Winston Churchill.)

Many sources presume that a ten-foot pole is simply another way to describe a barge pole (used by bargemen to fend off from banks, wharves or other boats), but alternate theories exist. One is that it refers to the 10-foot poles used by utility workers to de-energize high voltage utility equipment before performing maintenance. Another is that it originates in a burial practice in New Orleans in which the the body is placed in a casket in an above ground tomb for exactly a year and a day, then the tomb is opened and the casket removed. The body is wrapped in a sheet and pushed to the back of the tomb with a ten-foot pole until it falls off the back of the shelf to the bottom. In the New Orleans climate, bodies decompose quickly allowing many people to be interred in the same tomb.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.