Why do we say "It is more blessed to give than to receive.

Well-Known Expressions

It is more blessed to give than to receive

Meaning:

The spiritual benefits of unselfishness outweigh material possessions

Background:

Interestingly, although the concept is clearly at the heart of much of Jesus's teaching, he is not recorded as using the expression itself in any of the four gospels that record the events of his life. Instead it is first found in The Acts of the Apostles, when Paul ends his address to the Ephesian elders saying, "In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: 'It is more blessed to give than to receive.'" (Acts 20:35 NIV).

It is generally agreed that the Acts of the Apostles, which records the movements of the apostles in the immediate aftermath of the death of Jesus up until the death of Paul, is primarily written by the same author as the Gospel of Luke, not least because both books contain a preface that is addressed to "Theophilus". Traditionally, Luke is believed to be a companion of Paul, possibly a physician, who wrote both books around 60 AD.

Although referred to as the Acts of the Apostles, almost half of Acts is devoted to Paul. Looking at the New Testament as a whole, almost half of the books (13 of the 27) are generally believed to be written by Paul, although the authorship of a few is disputed.

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.