Why do we say "You can't make an omelet without breaking eggs.

Well-Known Expressions

You can't make an omelet without breaking eggs

Meaning:

You can't accomplish something worthwhile without sacrifices

Background:

This expression traces back to Audi Alteram Partem: Letters of a Representative to His Constituents (1859) by Thomas Perronet Thompson. Audi alteram partem or audiatur et altera pars literally means "hear the other side".

T.P Thompson (1783 - 1869) was a British Parliamentarian and a radical reformer who, among other causes, supported universal suffrage. He was Govenor of Sierra Leone for two years but was removed from his post after complaining about the system by which "freed" slaves were compulsorily "apprenticed" for fourteen years on arrival in Sierra Leone. He believed that William Wilberforce (a leader in the campaign to abolish slavery) and the Sierra Leone Company had "by means of their agents become slave traders themselves".

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.