Why do we say "You can run but you can't hide"?

Well-Known Expressions

You can run but you can't hide

Meaning:

You can try to escape from your real or imagined fears - but they'll catch up with you eventually.

Background:

Joe Louis' first fight with Billy Conn took place in June of 1941, at the Polo Grounds in New York City. Billy Conn was a superb, fearless boxer, but he was a natural light heavyweight. He entered the ring on the evening of the fight weighing at least 25 pounds less than the Champion.

Conn fought brilliantly, landing punches but using his skills to stay away from Louis' devastating punching power. In the 12th round, Conn landed several heavy blows and had Louis in trouble. At the close of the 12th round, Joe Louis trailed on the score cards of two of the three officials. He was being outboxed and beaten by the quicker, lighter Billy Conn. However, heartened by the effect of his punches on the Champion in the 12th round, Conn wanted to prove that he could trade punches with the Champion. When he came out for the 13th round, he abandoned his stylish boxing and began exchanging punches with the Champion. The result: Conn was knocked out by Louis with seconds remaining in the 13th round.

After World War II, in June, 1946, Louis fought a rematch with the challenger Conn. Remembering how close Louis had come to losing his Championship to Conn in 1941, boxing writers asked Louis how he would contend with the fast and cunning Conn. The Champion is said to have replied: "He can run, but he can't hide." Joe Louis was correct.

The second fight ended in the 8th round when the Champion knocked out Billy Conn for the second time.

--Raymond Goldstone

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.