Why do we say "To bite the bullet.

Well-Known Expressions

To bite the bullet

Meaning:

To force yourself to do something that you really don't want to do.

Background:

All likely sources of this expression trace back to the military, but there are at least three variations:

  • Back in the days when soldiers wounded on the battlefield were treated without the benefits of anesthesia they bit down on a bullet instead, perhaps to distract themselves from the pain or to avoid cracking their teeth by biting down too hard; or simply to avoid crying out (biting down on leather was also an option).
  • Soldiers/sailors being disciplined with a whipping would be given a bullet (or leather strop) to bite on because it was considered a point of honor not to cry out.
  • Some cartridges used to come in two parts - the missile which was held in place by grease, and the gunpowder. To prime the gun it was necessary to bite the bullet in half, pour the gunpowder into the barrel and then spit the bullet down the barrel. Some believe that the expression dates from when Indian soldiers fought for the British Empire because the fat used could have been from a variety of animals, including pigs and cows. If the cartridge contained pig or cow fat the solider could be considered damned, as pig meat is taboo for Muslims, and cows are considered holy by Hindus.

    From time to time one of the Wordplays can have more than one valid interpretation. In this instance, I had in mind 'to bite the bullet'; but also counted 'to beat the band' and 'to break the bank' as correct when randomly selecting the winner.

    Alphabetical list of expressions

    Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.