Why do we say "An apple a day keeps the doctor away.

Well-Known Expressions

An apple a day keeps the doctor away

Meaning:

Eating fruit keeps you healthy.

Background:

According to 'America's Popular Proverbs and Sayings' by Gregory Titelman, this expression was first found as a Welsh folk proverb in 1866: 'Eat an apple going to bed, and you'll keep the doctor from earning his bread'.

However, I wonder if it it's root isn't further back in time, and that the expression is not simply saying that apples/fruit keep you healthy, but alluding to the apple as a symbol. For example, in ancient Irish tradition the apple symbolized immortality, and many traditions have believed the apple to be a symbol of love and fertility, even the preferred food of the gods - if you cut an apple in half across the middle you'll see that the core forms the shape of a five pointed star/pentagon - a shape that has been revered for millennia as having spiritual qualities.

More about apples:

Pythagoreans, in ancient Greece, gave apple as gifts because of their pentagon shaped core.

Traditional Christianity often refers to the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge as being an apple.

Apples have long been associated with divination: these are some of the many traditions:
Bobbing for apples (trying to retrieve an apple using only ones mouth from a tub of water) was originally a boys game - the girls prepared the apples and the boys would bob for them, the apple that each boy retrieved indicated who they would marry.
Peel an apple in one piece, throw the peel over your shoulder and the shape that the peel falls in indicates whether the answer to the question should be yes or no.
If your question is about love, take a pip from an apple, state the name of your loved one, throw the pip in the fire, and if it pops it indicates that the love is reciprocated!

Alphabetical list of expressions

Challenge yourself with BookBrowse Wordplays

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.