Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

New This Week

First Impressions: Member Recommendations

  • The Scribe of Siena
    Melodie Winawer
    Published 5/16/17

    Accomplished neurosurgeon Beatrice Trovato knows that her deep empathy for her patients is starting ...
  • Extraordinary Adventures
    Daniel Wallace
    Published 5/30/17

    Edsel Bronfman works as a junior executive shipping clerk for an importer of Korean flatware. He ...
  • The People We Hate at the Wedding
    Grant Ginder
    Published 6/6/17

    Relationships are awful. They'll kill you, right up to the point where they start saving your life. ...

Publishing Soon

  • Extraordinary Adventures
    Daniel Wallace
    Published 5/30/17

    Edsel Bronfman works as a junior executive shipping clerk for an importer of Korean flatware. He ...
  • Crossing Ebenezer Creek
    Tonya Bolden
    Published 5/30/17

    When Mariah and her young brother Zeke are suddenly freed from slavery, they join Sherman's march ...
  • Theft by Finding
    David Sedaris
    Published 5/30/17

    It's no coincidence that the world's best writers tend to keep diaries. If you faithfully record ...

Featured This Week

  • The Book of Joan
    Lidia Yuknavitch
    Published 4/18/17

    The bestselling author of The Small Backs of Children offers a vision of our near-extinction and a ...
  • Grendel's Guide to Love and War
    A. E. Kaplan
    Published 4/18/17

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower meets Revenge of the Nerds in this tale of a teen misfit who seeks ...
  • If We Were Villains
    M L. Rio
    Published 4/11/17

    Intelligent, thrilling, and richly detailed, If We Were Villains is a captivating story of the ...

Reviews, previews, excerpts, interviews,and much more - all to explore at BookBrowse!

New in Hardcover

  • Augustown
    Kei Miller
    Published 5/23/17

    In the wake of Marlon James's Man Booker Prize–winning A Brief History of Seven Killings, ...
  • A Good Country
    Laleh Khadivi
    Published 5/23/17

    A timely novel about the radicalization of a Muslim teen in California - about where identity truly ...
  • House of Names
    Colm Toibin
    Published 5/9/17

    From the thrilling imagination of bestselling, award-winning Colm Tóibín comes a retelling...

New in Paperback

  • Kintu
    Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
    Published 5/16/17

    First published in Kenya in 2014 to critical and popular acclaim, Kintu is a modern classic, a ...
  • Hag-Seed
    Margaret Atwood
    Published 5/16/17

    William Shakespeare's The Tempest retold as Hag-Seed.
  • This Must Be the Place
    Maggie O'Farrell
    Published 5/16/17

    A dazzling novel from bestselling writer Maggie O'Farrell, winner of the Costa Novel Award—an ...

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • An Unrestored Woman
    Shobha Rao
    Published 3/14/17

    The twelve paired stories in Shobha Rao's An Unrestored Woman trace their origins to the formation ...
  • The Atomic Weight of Love
    Elizabeth Church
    Published 3/7/17

    In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife and Loving Frank, this resonant debut spans the years from World...
  • Ghachar Ghochar
    Vivek Shanbhag
    Published 2/7/17

    For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting, masterly novel about a family ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -