Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Member Recommendations

  • House of Stone
    Novuyo Rosa Tshuma
    Published 1/29/19

    Pulsing with wit, seduction, and dark humor, House of Stone is a masterful debut that explores the creative, and often destructive, act of history-making.
  • Golden Child
    Claire Adam
    Published 1/29/19

    A deeply affecting debut novel set in Trinidad, following the lives of a family as they navigate impossible choices about scarcity, loyalty, and love.
  • At the Wolf's Table
    Rosella Postorino
    Published 1/29/19

    The internationally bestselling novel based on the untold true story of the women conscripted to be Hitler's food tasters.

Publishing This Week

  • Dreyer's English
    Benjamin Dreyer
    Published 1/22/19

    A witty, informative guide to writing from Random House's longtime copy chief and one of Twitter's leading language gurus - in the tradition of The Elements of Style.
  • Holy Lands
    Amanda Sthers
    Published 1/22/19

    A witty, heartwarming, and heart-wrenching epistolary novel about a dysfunctional family - led by a Jewish pig farmer in Israel - struggling to love and accept each other.
  • Last Boat Out of Shanghai
    Helen Zia
    Published 1/22/19

    The dramatic real life stories of four young people caught up in the mass exodus of Shanghai in the wake of China's 1949 Communist revolution - a heartrending precursor to the struggles faced by emigrants today.

Publishing Soon

  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely
    Brigid Kemmerer
    Published 1/29/19

    In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.
  • All the Lives We Ever Lived
    Katharine Smyth
    Published 1/29/19

    A wise, lyrical memoir about the power of literature to help us read our own lives - and see clearly the people we love most.
  • Black Is the Body
    Emily Bernard
    Published 1/29/19

    An extraordinary, exquisitely written memoir that looks at race in twelve, connected, deeply personal essays.

Reviews, previews, excerpts, interviews,and much more - all to explore at BookBrowse!

New in Hardcover

  • The Dreamers
    Karen Thompson Walker
    Published 1/15/19

    An ordinary town is transformed by a mysterious illness that triggers perpetual sleep.
  • The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man
    Jonas Jonasson
    Published 1/15/19

    The hysterical, clever, and unforgettable sequel to Jonas Jonasson's international bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.
  • When Death Becomes Life
    Joshua D. Mezrich
    Published 1/15/19

    A gifted surgeon illuminates one of the most profound, awe-inspiring, and deeply affecting achievements of modern day medicine - the movement of organs between bodies - in this exceptional work of death and life.

New in Paperback

  • The Woman in the Water
    Charles Finch
    Published 1/15/19

    This chilling new mystery takes readers back to Charles Lenox's very first case and the ruthless serial killer who would set him on the course to become one of London's most brilliant detectives.
  • The Monk of Mokha
    Dave Eggers
    Published 1/8/19

    From the best-selling author of The Circle and What Is the What, a heart-pounding true story that weaves together the history of coffee, the struggles of everyday Yemenis living through civil war and the courageous journey of a young man - a Muslim ...
  • Brass
    Xhenet Aliu
    Published 1/8/19

    Told in equally gripping parallel narratives with biting wit and grace, Brass announces a fearless new voice with a timely, tender, and quintessentially American story.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • Heartland
    Sarah Smarsh
    Published 9/18/18

    A perfect companion to Evicted and Nickel and Dimed, Heartland reveals one woman's experience of working class poverty with a startlingly observed, eye-opening, and topical personal story.
  • The Winter Soldier
    Daniel Mason
    Published 9/11/18

    By the international bestselling author of The Piano Tuner, a sweeping and unforgettable love story of a young doctor and nurse at a remote field hospital in the First World War.
  • The Ninth Hour
    Alice McDermott
    Published 9/4/18

    Rendered with remarkable lucidity and intelligence, Alice McDermott's The Ninth Hour is a crowning achievement of one of the finest American writers at work today

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.