Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

New This Week

First Impressions: Member Recommendations

  • The Weight of Ink
    Rachel Kadish
    Published 6/6/17

    Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the ...
  • The Essex Serpent
    Sarah Perry
    Published 6/6/17

    When Cora Seaborne's brilliant, domineering husband dies, she steps into her new life as a widow ...
  • The Gypsy Moth Summer
    Julia Fierro
    Published 6/6/17

    On an island, time can freeze. But in the summer of 1992, young and old felt the change coming, ...

Publishing Soon

  • Spoonbenders
    Daryl Gregory
    Published 6/27/17

    Teddy Telemachus is a charming con man with a gift for sleight of hand and some shady underground ...
  • If Birds Fly Back
    Carlie Sorosiak
    Published 6/27/17

    Linny has kept a journal of famous disappearances ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle...
  • Quiet Until the Thaw
    Alexandra Fuller
    Published 6/27/17

    Lakota Oglala Sioux Nation, South Dakota. Two Native American cousins, Rick Overlooking Horse and ...

Featured This Week

  • Thanks for the Trouble
    Tommy Wallach
    Published 6/6/17

    Tommy Wallach, the New York Times bestselling author of the "stunning debut" (Kirkus Reviews, ...
  • The Hermit
    Thomas Rydahl
    Published 6/1/17

    For fans of Paul Auster, Raymond Chandler and Graham Greene comes this bold, prize-winning literary ...
  • Mischling
    Affinity Konar
    Published 5/30/17

    "One of the most harrowing, powerful, and imaginative books of the year" (Anthony Doerr) about twin ...

Reviews, previews, excerpts, interviews,and much more - all to explore at BookBrowse!

New in Hardcover

  • Golden Hill
    Francis Spufford
    Published 6/27/17

    Winner of the 2017 Costa First Novel Award.

    The spectacular first novel from acclaimed nonfiction...
  • Midnight at the Electric
    Jodi Lynn Anderson
    Published 6/13/17

    New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson's epic tale - told through three unforgettable ...
  • The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
    Arundhati Roy
    Published 6/6/17

    A dazzling, richly moving new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The God of Small ...

New in Paperback

  • The Other Side of the World
    Stephanie Bishop
    Published 6/27/17

    In the tradition of The Hours and Revolutionary Road comes a novel set in the 1960s about marriage,...
  • Crossing the Horizon
    Laurie Notaro
    Published 6/27/17

    Soar back to the fearless 1920s with #1 New York Times bestselling writer Laurie Notaro - beloved ...
  • The Bones of Grace
    Tahmima Anam
    Published 6/27/17

    From the award-winning, nationally bestselling author of A Golden Age and The Good Muslim comes a ...

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • Commonwealth
    Ann Patchett
    Published 5/2/17

    The acclaimed, bestselling author - winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize - tells ...
  • Tuesday Nights in 1980
    Molly Prentiss
    Published 5/2/17

    An intoxicating and transcendent debut novel that follows a critic, an artist, and their shared muse...
  • The Nightingale
    Kristin Hannah
    Published 4/25/17

    Winner of the 2015 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    Vivid and exquisite in its illumination of a time and ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.