Some of It Was Real: Book summary and reviews of Some of It Was Real by Nan Fischer

Some of It Was Real

by Nan Fischer

Some of It Was Real by Nan Fischer X
Some of It Was Real by Nan Fischer
Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

A psychic on the verge of stardom who isn't sure she believes in herself and a cynical journalist with one last chance at redemption are brought together by secrets from the past that also threaten to tear them apart.

Psychic-medium Sylvie Young starts every show with her origin story, telling the audience how she discovered her abilities. But she leaves out a lot—the plane crash that killed her parents, an estranged adoptive family who tend orchards in rainy Oregon, panic attacks, and the fact that her agent insists she research some clients to ensure success.

After a catastrophic reporting error, Thomas Holmes's next story at the L.A. Times may be his last, but he's got a great personal pitch. "Grief vampires" like Sylvie who prey upon the loved ones of the deceased have bankrupted his mother. He's dead set on using his last-chance article to expose Sylvie as a conniving fraud and resurrect his career.

When Sylvie and Thomas collide, a game of cat and mouse ensues, but the secrets they're keeping from each other are nothing compared to the mysteries and lies they unearth about Sylvie's past. Searching for the truth might destroy them both—but it's the only way to find out what's real.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Fresh, surprising, and compulsively readable, Some of It Was Real sucked me right in with its rich characters, sparkling wit, and captivating story arc. This debut is more than a page-turner; it's an unflinching exploration of identity, trauma, and transcending the past, and it kept me riveted all the way up to its jaw-dropping conclusion."—New York Times bestselling author Andrea Bartz

"The perfect blend of mystery and love story, Some of It Was Real kept me guessing and turning pages way past my bedtime, all the way to its shocking denouement. An absolute must-read."—USA Today bestselling author Colleen Oakley

This information about Some of It Was Real was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. Publication information is for the USA, and (unless stated otherwise) represents the first print edition. The reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that they do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, send us a message with the mainstream reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Lupita G. (Plantation, FL)

Not your typical romance book...
This isn't your typical rom-com book, because there's SO MUCH MORE than what has been published lately. Sylvie is a psychic-medium with a huge following, yet she has some secrets of her own. Thomas is an L.A. journalist writing about "grief vampires" - what he calls people like Sylvie - who firmly beliefs that she's a charlatan.

But while they are complete opposites, they have more things in common than they realize. The story keeps you turning the pages; the characters are realistic, and there are very funny moments, especially with their pets.

Highly recommend this one for book clubs, or for anyone who needs a "light read" but with substance.

Sandra B. (Buda, TX)

What was real?
I enjoyed this book. It kept you guessing as to what was really Sylvia's history and why couldn't she remember. Trying to understand why Thomas felt the way he did about Sylvia's profession and if she was going to change his mind kept you wondering. The author did well with keeping the mystery and adding a bit of romance.

Gary R. (Bolingbrook, IL)

I can read your mind?
This was not my typical choice to read but the synopsis sounded interesting, so I took a chance and it was a very pleasant surprise. I really liked the way it was told in alternating chapters by the two main characters, Sylvie, the psychic, or is she just a scam? And Thomas,the reporter, trying to redeem himself after a disastrous article, trying to keep his job by proving that psychics are charlatans. Really liked it, get it--you won't be disappointed

Mel F. (Auburn, MA)

A real page turner that you wouldn't predict
Sylvie Young is a psychic-medium who uses glitzy performances before packed audiences to demonstrate her abilities. Her success is burgeoning, and she is aiming for stardom.

Thomas Holmes, a reporter for the L.A. times, is determined to write a front-page expose about Sylvie to prove she is a hoax. However, he has insufficient evidence to support his claim.

Thomas and Sylvie make a commitment to travel together to her next "gig" in Oregon, but each have stipulations. Thomas is figuratively going to "co join" with Sylvie by sharing a single train compartment and confiscating her electronic devices so she cannot cheat by getting advance background information on her audience. Sylvie agrees to a detour to visit her foster parents so Thomas can interview them about her childhood.

This trip is transformational for both as they deal with issues involving relationships, families, Sylvie's spontaneous predictions to strangers, haunting dreams, and family secrets.

The author masterfully crafted this story because her chapters switch between Sylvie and Thomas and the reader feels invested in their journey. Her language is artful. Her descriptions are evocative. She uses words and phrases that are subtly predictive.

All the twists and turns in the story make it totally engrossing and what will happen next is unpredictable. This book is excellent for a book club since it presents so many discussion points.

The author states that the reader's "take away" is "a belief that anything is possible." Only the reader can decide.

Amber H. (Asheville, NC)

Good, quick read!
Reading the description, I didn't think this book would grab my interest but I was pleasantly surprised! By page 2 I was hooked! Well written, interesting characters and a good story line that kept me engaged. I read this in 2 days.

I was worried a story about a psychic would be ridiculous and not believable, but that wasn't how this book played out. I was interested in both main characters, learning more about Sylvia's backstory and felt the pace of the book moved along quickly.

I recommend this read, even if you don't think the description would be for you.

windellh

Some of it was real
"Some of It Was Real" was a great read. Sylvie and Thomas were believable characters because the author displayed their good and bad traits with great timing and good emotional response.The story line was unique. We don't read a lot about psychics in novels today. Strange how their life stories were very similar. This would be a great book club novel. I read this in 2 sittings.

...26 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Nan Fischer Author Biography

Photo: Kelley Dulcich Photography

Nan Fischer is a two-time Oregon Book Award finalist for her novels, When Elephants Fly and The Speed of Falling Objects. Additional author credits include co- authored sport autobiographies for elite athletes, and a Star Wars trilogy for LucasFilm. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and their Vizsla, Boone.

Author Interview
Link to Nan Fischer's Website

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more literary fiction...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Fruiting Bodies
    by Kathryn Harlan

    A genre-bending debut collection of stories full of desire, wisdom, and magic blooming amidst decay.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.