Free copies of books to read and review, or read and discuss.

First Impressions and Online Book Club

Read recent reviews | Join a discussion

First Impressions and the Book Club give BookBrowse members the opportunity to read and review or discuss books for free. Members who take part regularly tend to get assigned a book about every 3 months, sometimes more frequently, occasionally less so. For reasons of copyright and logistics the publishers who provide the books for First Impressions can only mail to US residents. Full FAQ.

Members: Please login and then return to this page to request a copy of a book or find out when these books will be available.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books available to request and discuss in BookBrowse's Online Book Club

  • Being Mortal Jacket
    Being Mortal:
    Medicine and What Matters in the End
    by Atul Gawande

    Picador
    Publishes: 09/05/2017
    Genre: History, Science & Current Affairs
    304 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending

    This discussion will open on Sept 12 and will stay open for at least 6 weeks.

    More about this book

  • All the Ugly and Wonderful Things Jacket
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    Thomas Dunne Books
    Publishes: 10/03/2017
    Genre: Novels
    352 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    A beautiful and provocative love story between two unlikely people and the hard-won relationship that elevates them above the Midwestern meth lab backdrop of their lives.

    This discussion will open on Oct 3 and will stay open for at least 6 weeks.

    More about this book

  • To Capture What We Cannot Keep Jacket
    To Capture What We Cannot Keep
    by Beatrice Colin

    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 10/31/2017
    Genre: Historical Fiction
    304 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young Scottish widow and a French engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love.

    This discussion will open on Oct 24 and will stay open for at least 6 weeks.

    More about this book

Books available to request and review for First Impressions

  • The French Girl Jacket
    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    Berkley Books
    Publishes: 02/20/2018
    Genre: Thrillers
    304 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    One woman becomes trapped in the tangled bonds of friendship in an exhilarating debut novel of psychological suspense for fans of Fiona Barton, Clare Mackintosh, and Ruth Ware.

    More about this book

  • Mothers of Sparta Jacket
    Mothers of Sparta:
    A Memoir in Pieces
    by Dawn Davies

    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 01/30/2018
    Genre: Biographies/Memoirs
    272 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Straddling the fence between humor and, well…not humor, Davies' literary memoir is about what it's like to be a woman trying to carve a place for herself in the world, no matter how unyielding the rock can be.

    More about this book

  • Never Coming Back Jacket
    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
    Publishes: 10/10/2017
    Genre: Novels
    256 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Never Coming Back is a brilliant and piercing story of a young woman finding her way in life, determined to know her mother—and by extension herself—before it's too late.

    More about this book

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.