Thomas J. Stanley biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Thomas J. Stanley.

Author Biography  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Thomas J. Stanley

Thomas J. Stanley

Thomas J. Stanley Biography

Thomas J. Stanley, America's foremost authority on the affluent, is a respected researcher, advisor, and author of several highly regarded, award winning books on America's wealthy population.

Dr. Stanley is the author of The Millionaire Next Door and The Millionaire Mind. These books spent more than 170 weeks combined on the New York Times' Best Sellers list. His Millionaire Women Next Door was selected as a finalist for the business book of the year by the Independent Publishers Association and was on several business best sellers lists. Dr. Stanley's first three books, Marketing to the Affluent, Selling to the Affluent, and Networking with the Affluent and Their Advisors, were all designated as outstanding business books. In total, more than three million copies of Dr. Stanley's books have been sold worldwide.

Dr. Stanley has authored more than 40 published articles which deal with the affluent in America. His most significant, ground breaking articles include: "America's Affluent," American Demographics; "How to Live Like a Millionaire," Reader's Digest; and "The Doctor who Manages his Own Investments Has a Fool for a Client," Medical Economics.

Dr. Stanley has also published numerous articles on the topic of marketing professional services to the affluent, including: "Ways to Add Value for Clients," Journal of Accountancy; "How to Network with Affluent Client Prospects," Marketing for Lawyers; "Marketing Trust Services to the Affluent," Trust and Estates; and "Investment Management and the Affluent Customer," The Bankers Magazine.

Dr. Stanley has appeared as a featured guest numerous times on The Today Show, 20/20, and The Oprah Winfrey Show. His work has been cited in the national media, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Forbes, Fortune, Time, Money Magazine, U.S. News and World Report, and USA Today.

In 1979 Dr. Stanley first conceptualized "The Wealthy Blue Collar" segment, a precursor to the millionaire next door typology, in a speech given on behalf of The New York Stock Exchange, later published by the American Marketing Association. In 1980 Dr. Stanley conducted a national survey of America's multimillionaires- the first ever of its kind. Since that time he has conducted numerous studies of the affluent and focus group interviews with high net worth respondents for a majority of the top 50 financial institutions in America. Dr. Stanley has served as a top-rated main platform speaker for The American Bankers Association, Society of Certified Public Accountants, the Securities Industry Association, The International Association of Financial Planners, The Association of Estate Planners, and the Million Dollar Round Table.

Dr. Stanley is also chairman of the Affluent Market Institute through which he has developed research based marketing and selling strategies for identifying, attracting and retaining wealthy clients.

Dr. Stanley received his doctorate in business administration from The University of Georgia. He was a university professor for 20 years, leaving to pursue a career in research and writing about America's millionaires. At Georgia State University he was named Omicron Delta Kappa's Outstanding Professor.

Link to Thomas's website

This biography was last updated on 01/05/2014.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Thomas J. Stanley at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Millionaire Next Door
The Millionaire Next Door

by Thomas J. Stanley

The incredible national bestseller that is changing people's lives -- and increasing their net worth!
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Thomas J. Stanley but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Meena Cheng

    Meena Cheng

    Meena Cheng is a Chinese immigrant who traveled alone to this country at age 17. Fortune in Your Cookies; Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating is her only book. It weaves together many of her life's passions (food ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Millionaire Next Door

    Try:
    Fortune In Your Cookies
    by Meena Cheng

  • Robert Kiyosaki

    Robert Kiyosaki

    Robert Kiyosaki, author of Rich Dad Poor Dad - the international runaway bestseller that has held a top spot on the New York Times bestsellers list for over six years - is an investor, entrepreneur and educator. Born and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Millionaire Next Door

    Try:
    Rich Dad, Poor Dad
    by Robert Kiyosaki

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  88Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.