Free copies of books to read and review, or read and discuss.

First Impressions and Online Book Club

Read member reviews of recent First Impressions books

First Impressions gives BookBrowse members the opportunity to read and review books for free, usually before they're published. Most members who choose to take part receive 3-4 books a year. For reasons of copyright and logistics the publishers who provide the books for First Impressions can only mail to US residents. For more about First Impressions please read the FAQ.

The Online Book Club is open to all visitors (but we can only provide the limited number of free copies to members in the USA). To participate in a book club discussion, please click here.

Members: Please login and then return to this page to request a copy of a book or find out when these books will be available.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books available to request and discuss in BookBrowse's Online Book Club

  • How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky Jacket
    How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky:
    A Novel
    by Lydia Netzer

    St. Martin's Press
    Publishes: 07/01/2014
    Genre: Novels
    352 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Lydia Netzer's How to Tell Toledo from the Night Sky is a mind-bending, heart-shattering love story for dreamers and pragmatists alike, exploring the conflicts of fate and determinism, and asking how much of life is under our control and what is pre-ordained in the stars.

    Discussion will open on July 1

    More about this book

Books available to request and review for First Impressions

  • Brutal Youth Jacket
    Brutal Youth:
    A Novel
    by Anthony Breznican

    Thomas Dunne Books
    Publishes: 06/10/2014
    Genre: Novels
    416 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    "If you thought high school was hell, has Anthony Breznican got a story for you…" - Stephen King

    Three freshmen must join forces to survive at a troubled, working-class Catholic high school with a student body full of bullies and zealots, and a faculty that's even worse.

    Editor's Note: Although set in a high school "Brutal Youth" is a novel for adults

    More about this book

  • Small Blessings Jacket
    Small Blessings:
    A Novel
    by Martha Woodroof

    St. Martin's Press
    Publishes: 08/12/2014
    Genre: Novels
    320 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    For readers of Helen Simonson and Anna Quindlen, Martha Woodroof's Small Blessings is funny, heart-warming and poignant, with a charmingly imperfect cast of cinema-ready characters. Readers will fall in love with the novel's wonderfully optimistic heart that reminds us that sometimes, when it feels like life is veering irrevocably off track, the track changes in ways we never could have imagined.

    More about this book

  • Her Jacket
    Her
    by Harriet Lane

    Little Brown & Company
    Publishes: 01/06/2015
    Genre: Thrillers
    320 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    On the face of it, Emma and Nina have very little in common. Isolated and exhausted by early motherhood, Emma finds her confidence is fading fast. Nina— sophisticated, generous, effortlessly in control—seems to have all the answers. It's easy to see why Emma is drawn to Nina. But what does Nina see in her?

    A seemingly innocent friendship slowly develops into a dangerous game of cat and mouse as Nina eases her way into Emma's life. Soon, it becomes clear that Nina wants something from the unwitting Emma—something that might just destroy her.

    More about this book

  • The Romanov Sisters Jacket
    The Romanov Sisters:
    The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra
    by Helen Rappaport

    St. Martin's Press
    Publishes: 06/03/2014
    Genre: Biographies/Memoirs
    448 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Expert in the field Helen Rappaport brings the four daughters of the last Tsar to life in their own words, illuminating the opulence of their doomed world and their courage as they faced a terrible end, including never-before-translated diary entries from one of their entourage.

    More about this book

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.