Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • Piranesi
    Susanna Clarke
    Published 9/15/20

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.
  • The Thirty Names of Night
    Zeyn Joukhadar
    Published 11/24/20

    The author of the "vivid and urgent…important and timely" (The New York Times Book Review) debut The Map of Salt and Stars returns with this remarkably moving and ...
  • The Lost Apothecary
    Sarah Penner
    Published 3/2/21

    A forgotten history. A secret network of women. A legacy of poison and revenge. Welcome to The Lost Apothecary.

Publishing This Week

  • Adrianne Geffel
    David Hajdu
    Published 9/22/20

    A poignant and hilarious oral history of a (fictitious) musical phenomenon.
  • And Now She's Gone
    Rachel Howzell Hall
    Published 9/22/20

    Isabel Lincoln is gone. But is she missing?
  • Dancing with the Octopus
    Debora Harding
    Published 9/22/20

    For readers of Educated and The Glass Castle, a harrowing, redemptive and profoundly inspiring memoir of childhood trauma and its long reach into adulthood.

Publishing Soon

  • Whale Day
    Billy Collins
    Published 9/29/20

    A new collection from Billy Collins, former U.S. Poet Laureate and "America's favorite poet" (the Wall Street Journal).
  • The Bell in the Lake
    Lars Mytting
    Published 9/29/20

    The engrossing epic novel - a #1 bestseller in Norway - of a young woman whose fate plays out against her village's mystical church bells.
  • Just Like You
    Nick Hornby
    Published 9/29/20

    This warm, wise, highly entertaining twenty-first century love story is about what happens when the person who makes you happiest is someone you never expected.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Cameroon: Past, Present and Future
    Beyond the book article for When the Plums Are Ripe
    Located in West-Central Africa, Cameroon is about the size of California, with an estimated population of 25 million. The country's two main cities are Yaoundé, the capital, and Douala, a major industrial port along the Gulf of Guinea in the South Atlantic. It borders many nations: Nigeria, ...
  • The Impact of The Handmaid's Tale
    Beyond the book article for The Testaments
    Margaret Eleanor Atwood was born in Ottawa in 1939. Although best known for her speculative fiction, she's the author of more than 40 books, including works of fiction, poetry, short stories, children's works and critical essays.

    Atwood's desire to be a writer stems from a revelation she had at ...
  • The Segregation of St. Louis
    Beyond the book article for Jack
    In Marilynne Robinson's novel Jack, the title character, a white man, meets and falls in love with a Black woman named Della. However, America's racism, segregation and anti-miscegenation laws in the 1950s present a nearly insurmountable obstacle for the couple. One of their specific concerns is how...

New in Hardcover

  • The Thursday Murder Club
    Richard Osman
    Published 9/22/20

    Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
    A female cop with her first big case
    A brutal murder
    Welcome to...
    THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB
  • Homeland Elegies
    Ayad Akhtar
    Published 9/15/20

    From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Disgraced and American Dervish: an immigrant father and his son search for belonging -- in post-Trump America, and with each other.
  • Piranesi
    Susanna Clarke
    Published 9/15/20

    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality.

New in Paperback

  • We, the Survivors
    Tash Aw
    Published 9/8/20

    From the author of The Harmony Silk Factory and Five Star Billionaire, a compelling depiction of a man's act of violence, set against the backdrop of Asia in flux.
  • The Sacrament
    Olaf Olafsson
    Published 9/1/20

    The haunting, vivid story of a nun whose past returns to her in unexpected ways, all while investigating a mysterious death and a series of harrowing abuse claims.
  • The World That We Knew
    Alice Hoffman
    Published 9/1/20

    In 1941, during humanity's darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of The ...

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • The Great Pretender
    Susannah Cahalan
    Published 7/14/20

    From "one of America's most courageous young journalists" (NPR) and the author of the blockbuster #1 New York Times bestselling memoir Brain on Fire comes a propulsive ...
  • The Nickel Boys
    Colson Whitehead
    Published 6/30/20

    In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes...
  • The Last Flight
    Julie Clark
    Published 6/2/20

    For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, The Last Flight is the story of two women - both alone, both scared - and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.