Reader reviews and comments on Graceling, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Graceling

By Kristin Cashore

Graceling
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Oct 2008,
    480 pages.
    Paperback: Sep 2009,
    480 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Graceling
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Julia (11/11/12)

A Piece of Art
I started this book 2 days ago and I finished it one day ago. This book is amazing. Every word Kristin touches turns into gold. The fantasy in the novel was so well thought out and mind blowing that the book just consumes you into a complete and utter world of fantasy and adventure. AMAZING!
Kady (01/26/12)

Excellent but not for everyone
Graceling is an engaging tale that is clearly suited to a young teen audience. Thought the premise is certainly different the plot holds few surprises. If you are looking for something exciting and easy to follow this is a wonderful read. I greatly anticipate future books from Ms. Cashore as there was some room for improvement. If you are looking for something more than mildly thought provoking, you are looking in the wrong place.
Ray Ray (11/16/11)

Took me by Storm!
This was an amazing book, I just couldn't put it down. I love the setting and the plot....It had me on my toes wanting to know whats going to happen next, there's romance, adventure and a little humor. Everyone needs to read this, you will never put is down
Alice (03/03/11)

A perfectly good plot ruined
Let me first say, the plot for this novel was wonderful. The idea of Graces and Gracelings was intriguing to me. When I started the book, I thought it was alright. Nothing extraordinary, but it was okay. About halfway through, I realized it was terrible. All of the main characters follow some sort of stereotype, especially Katsa and Po. The character development was terrible. The romance ruined it. A girl who says she is never to fall in love, falling in love? Overused and pathetic. This reminded me of Twilight, which is one of the worst books I have ever read. The climax was about the only section that interested me, and it was short. This could be a good book for people who like romance and books like Twilight, but for people who like novels that actually focus on the fantasy genre, you should pick up something better.
Sammy Dykes (10/14/10)

OMG!!!!
THIS IS AN AWESOME BOOK!!! I'm a major reader but I rarely get into a different book without someone else telling me about it first. I also rarely read a book more than once. I have read Graceling twice, the Hunger Games once (though I'm working on reading it again), Eragon series once (but it was awesome and i cant wait for the new book!) and the Twilight series too many times to count! I love books like these ones and I love Graceling because its just awesome!! I sometimes refer back to it when I'm writing something myself. It helps to have it for inspiration. I wish there was more than just Fire and Graceling! They were both awesome books! I wish there was more!
Abby (09/21/10)

Graceling
I love this book so much! I couldn't put it down! It provides a world that fantasy readers will love reading about.
Mark (12/13/08)

Graceling
This book is astonishing. Fantasy readers will be compelled by the mix of love, suspense, fighting, and mystery all in one. By far a phenomenal novel and an astonishing, suspenseful read.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...
  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Who Said...

Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.