Read what people think about Buying In by Laura Hemphill, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Buying In

By Laura Hemphill

Buying In
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Nov 2013,
    304 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 reader reviews for Buying In
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Therese X. (Calera, AL) (11/14/13)

Amazing insight into a powerful world
Sophie Landgraf, a brilliant Yale finance graduate from a small Midwestern town is hired into a high-powered New York Wall Street firm as an Analyst, a "spreadsheet intern" collating documents and trends of large companies who show promise for Sterling Company to enrich their reputation and their coffers.  Plunging herself into the job, Sophie pulls all-nighters, and stokes herself with coffee to keep her foot in the door, hoping the Managing Director will take her seriously. 

At the beginning of the novel, her intense 24 hour job feels claustrophobic as she sleeps in her cubicle just long enough to take a breather when no one else is around. Then, to have another go at analyzing data and coming up with ideas to present to her reserved, perfectionist Director, Ethan Pearce, a handsome fifty-ish widower who shows no emotion or charisma because it would distract from his raison d'être--work. Sophie's immediate boss, Vasu Mehta, struggles between the demands of the Company and the remonstrations of his wife  who keeps reminding him his mother in India could die any moment, as if he could pick up and go there any time. His only comfort is the occasional slip outside with his pack of Parliament cigarettes. 

Oblivious to her boss's troubles, Sophie, young and hopeful, is delighted to be in the job she's always wanted working in high banking.  She tries to balance her personal life with the job, but Sterling expects their people to be perpetually on call, and she has to disappoint those she cares for, especially her widowed father who is unaware his daughter is buying his art sculpture under an assumed name to keep him pursuing his craft. He doesn't understand that she actually likes her job despite the unreasonable demands because she feels she can eventually succeed in the corporation. Sophie's naiveté and common sense surprises everyone,  including their client, at a big teleconference with her idea for modeling a merger between two metal companies. The project has personal and global  effects, with an eye-opening view of how companies are run and how far people will go and what values they will discard for power and huge amounts of money.

"Buying In" is a fast-paced and engrossing account of  Wall Street and corporate America at the edge of the sub-prime fiasco. Sophie Landgraf is a young but determined character who keeps the story together and often tempers the greed and heartlessness of layoffs and betrayals. Fighting to stay true to herself,  uncluttered by the ego and paranoia of her male-dominated world, she reveals what women are capable of in big business and finance.
Evonne L. (Lakeport, CA) (11/07/13)

Buying In
I enjoyed reading this novel from beginning to end. With a very engaging story line, well defined characters, realistic motives, and some worthwhile truisms tucked in, the author tells a modern tale that is relevant, informational and entertaining all at once! The heroine in the book, Sophie Landgraf, struggles to fit in being true to herself in a corporate world full of deceit, questionable strategies and smoke and mirrors. Although I have experience in the mortgage industry, the book provides a great basic understanding of investment banking without going over the head of the reader; although it will be especially appealing to those employed in a financial career, anyone should be able to read and enjoy the book without getting lost in the setting of her world of work.

I love the personal details of Sophie's relationship with her father, her boyfriend, Will, and her best friend. All of these relationships provide insight into her character and endear her to the reader. I love the way her honesty and genuine instincts in dealing with a client earns her the respect deserving of good behavior. It is very interesting the way the author weaves Sophie's boss, Ethan, into the story as a possible love interest and then writes an appropriate and satisfying conclusion.

There were also a few great truisms in the book that made it an insightful pleasure to read. I liked, "pretend like you can handle it until you can actually handle it." A reference to "believing in the goodness of human nature" was also a great line in keeping with the theme of the book.

Writing from the perspective of different characters was done exceptionally well and kept the reader engaged and informed without getting confused.

I really enjoyed this book and definitely look forward to more from Laura Hemphill.
Neil W. (Tavares, FL) (11/07/13)

First Rate in Many Resprcts
I found "Buying In" to be a first rate novel in many respects. Debut author, Laura Hemphill, demonstrates rare and wonderful accomplishments in her writing: a compelling plot, well-organized prose and character development that actually helps us understand the individual and group psychology behind current affairs. And yes, it's a "page turner" too. I feel the issues raised in "Buying In" can be generalized far beyond Wall Street, USA and the international banking industry. For those of us who continually wonder how our social institutions and political processes could have reached their current state, a careful read of this book can help us think about better ways to proceed. Hurray for Laura Hemphill and please read and pass-along "Buying In."
Karen M. (Great Falls, VA) (11/05/13)

A familiar tale with a twist
Laura Hemphill's debut novel, Buying In, does not following in the tradition of the Nanny Diaries, The Devil Wears Prada or Bridget Jones. It is not chick lit. But it does share some of the elements of these books in its character; a bright, ambitious twenty-two year old from a small west Massachusetts town comes to the big city to make money in a prestigious New York investment bank. The year is 2007, right before the banks collapse. Sophie, the main character, plays haunting tapes in her head of lectures by her disapproving parents, best friend and hipster boyfriend. The latter has no interest in her obsession pursuit of the vapid glitz and glamour she craves surrounding her new job and workmates. The question presented is will she "Buy In" to this world, and abandon everyone else? Even after experiencing the profession's ugly underbelly?

The author follows the old adage "write what you know." Like Sophie, Ms. Hemphill graduated from Yale and spent seven years in the N.Y. banking world. If you are not familiar with this life, this book will provide plenty of fast-paced action and investment banking background to acquaint you with this profession and it's ego, greed, dishonesty, risks and sacrifices. And it shares the rush that comes from the deal. Her story rings true to me. Even her addiction to copius amounts of Starbucks to work 23 hours per day, seven days per week, for months, in order to make the deal happen. The book ends as the first investment bank, Lehman Brothers, fails.
Rebecca K. (Chicagoland, IL) (11/05/13)

Exhilarating ride on Wall Street
Debut novelist Laura Hemphill's "Buying In" is a compelling look behind the (fictional) scenes of the crisis on Wall Street. Both timely and intriguing, the novel is not only for readers with background knowledge of the banking industry. Told through alternating viewpoints of a recent college grad working as an analyst, a midlevel banker of foreign descent, a managing director of an industrial group, and the CEO of a struggling company, the story is fast-paced and surprisingly relatable. "Buying In" is a great read, and Hemphill is a promising author to watch.
Janet P. (Spokane, WA) (10/31/13)

I didn't entirely buy in
Laura Hemphill tells a great story. If I had more than just one category with which to rate this book I would have given Ms. Hemphill a 5 for story, a 4 for quality writing and a 2 because of use of details that are quite hard to follow for a non-wall-street-wise reader. I struggled through overuse of long sections telling of subprime lending, along with a plethora of terms that are more than likely easily understood by stockbrokers and bankers but definitely not understood by me. The father/daughter relationship was believable and familiar to me as a mother of daughters who struggle to be different than their parents. However again, I had to spend too much time plodding through the wall-street terminology to understand the whole picture. The ending didn't improve my take on the book.

I won't ruin it for readers, but the ending was disappointing yet believable to me. All in all, I did keep reading but there were definitely parts that I really wanted to skip through, so an average rating seems realistic.
Carol B. (Orland Park, IL) (10/25/13)

Cut Throat Business A Great Read
I am not one who finds business very interesting topic, but this book was a wonderful read. I found it hard to put down. The characters were very well developed and I found I had different likes and dislikes for the characters. This book really showed how business is "every man for himself" and there is really no such thing as a friend in the business. You had to watch your back. I especially enjoyed watching Sophie develop from a green newbie into a business person who learned how to get what she wanted without sacrificing her feelings for other people. Definitely would recommend this book to others and my book club.
Arden A. (Longboat Key, FL) (10/25/13)

Buying In
Full disclosure: I have never worked on Wall Street nor in the investment industry. But I am aware that the best and the brightest are hired out of the top schools for large salaries, and then asked to devote themselves night and day to the firm.

Laura Hemphill's first novel leads us through the day to day trials and tribulations at one of those New York investment firms through first person accounts by three employees: Sophie, the naïve 22 year old new hire, Vasu, her boss, and Ethan, her boss's boss. I thought the characters were well developed, and the story line mostly feasible. It's a ruthless business, and ruthlessness contributed to the eventual demise of the the fictional firm. Sophie's naivete does not last long in this world she has chosen. The college boyfriend falls by the wayside, but the relationship was not meant to be in the new reality of Sophie's life. And the ending proves that Sophie learned her lessons well. Great book, good read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.