Reader reviews and comments on A New Song, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A New Song

By Jan Karon

A New Song
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Apr 1999,
    400 pages.
    Paperback: Apr 2000,
    416 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for A New Song
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Freda (08/13/10)

A New Song
I love every book in the Mitford series, but I wonder what became of Kenny Barlowe. Does he show up later and I'd like to see what happens to Sammy.
Darleen Barger (03/30/02)

I have read all five of the books in the Mitford Series and find them all excellent. Once you begin to read them it is as if you are a part of the life in Mitford.
I am so looking forward to the next book in the series. I want to see what happens to Dooley, if they find the other children, where Cynthia and Tim end up.
I received the first book at a gift, I bought the other four and my daugters are now reading them. My oldest daughter Kathy has read the first three and we sent them home with her sister Donna, so that she could begin them. As soon as my daughters are through with them, I have friends waiting to read them.
I hope that the next book comes out soon, I will be waiting impatiently.
Anonymous (08/13/01)

Judy
I just finished reading the Mitford Series by Jan Karon, best books I have
ever read. She makes you feel as though you're there in the room with them. I'm
disappointed in the ending of A New Song as I'm not sure who Father Tim meets on
his walk on the very last page. Tell me please.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Diane
I've enjoyed reading the Mitford series; however, I was disappointed in the majority of A New Song. At least the first half of the book appears to be a reprint of Out To Canaan. A brief synopsis of previous books may have been appropriate for those who have not read the entire series, but not a complete duplication of Out To Canaan. Is it possible that this is a printing error and not the author's intent?
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Connie H
The Mitford series was like going on a vacation where one meets people who they learn to love and want to spend time getting to know. Most importantly Jan Karon adds Biblical truths into the storyline that would bring someone to Christ.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Pixie Pizarro
This series is one of the most heartwarming that I have ever read. I have told many to read Ms. Karon's books, and all have told me how wonderful they are and how good they make one feel. Would just like to know if anyone knows when the next twp books will be coming out? Thank you,
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Patsy H
I have read all five books of the Mitford series and loved them so much that I just finished reading them for the second time and will continue to keep them in library for future readings. Am hoping Jan Karon will continue to write about these wonderful characters.
Anonymous (07/15/01)

Karen Potts
If you have read any of the other books in this series, you will feel as if you are "coming home". There is a new location, a new church, and some new characters, but this book gives the reader the same warm feeling that the others in the Mitford series has given. This is a book of simple neighborliness and love, where the characters depend on God and one another. A real day-brightener!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.