Reader reviews and comments on The Sociopath Next Door, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sociopath Next Door

The Ruthless Versus the Rest of Us

By Martha Stout

The Sociopath Next Door
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Feb 2005,
    256 pages.
    Paperback: Mar 2006,
    256 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 40 reader reviews for The Sociopath Next Door
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Audrey (12/27/12)

The Sociopath Next Door
My major problem with this book is that the writer claims that (1 in 25 ) or 4 percent of the population are sociopaths. This simply is not true. The correct stats are as follows: 2 percent of the population displays antisocial behaviour & of that 2.5 percent are sociopaths. So right off the top this book is creating a very false picture of the realty of the situation. Also, I found it odd that after 25 years of practice the writer presented only 3 profiles in this very thin volume.
J. Dunlap (03/21/12)

She Lives Next Door to Me
I live next door to a Sociopath. I have know she was one for years so I stayed away from her. I bought this book to be sure I wasn't judging my neighbor wrongly. This book is wonderful! It proved that the Sociopath next door to me is a pure Sociopath. Thank you!
Mariah Haley (12/12/11)

Good.
Really interesting to read! Enjoyed it and the mini scenarios were helpful :)
Jeannie (12/03/11)

A must read for all
I, too, was in a marriage for over 25 years with a "sociopath next door." I have a psychology background. Yet I would never think my husband was a sociopath because he wasn't mass killing people like Ted Bundy. He had a very high position in government, where his command was done without question. He also has other mental issues, including extreme ADHD, porn/sex addiction, and hoarding. Yet there was a coldness about him which wasn't explained. In the last years of our marriage as he became more mentally erratic, I started to secretly closely watch all of his behavior. I was shocked by what I found. This was the man I was living with? What I found was a Dr. Jeykll/Mr. Hyde personality. When confronted with some of the stealing behavior, he coolly denied it without blinking an eye, even when presented with evidence. I knew then, this wasn't the first time he lied. He was a master at it. Still, I didn't peg him for a sociopath, even though he passed the online test with flying colors. After all, he didn't hit me. He did charitable things for others. (It helped his career.) It wasn't until I read this book (twice) that things finally sunk in. I'm sure if they did a brain test, they would find his brain doesn't fire like others. This book has helped the healing and understanding process, although it is still difficult to understand how a human being can act as the sociopaths do. I agree that all law enforcement and those in the courts should read this.
Notloh (11/09/11)

Read this book!!!!
This book seems to be written out of a sincere wish to warn the world about the human predators among us. While it is true that some things are repeated that seems to me to be done in order to hammer the point home rather than to fill up space/pages. The author is also up front about the fact that it is almost impossible to spot a psychopath even though the title of the book suggest otherwise. The book is actually meant (I believe) to help people who suspect or know that they are victims of this kind of person to come to terms with it and save themselves. This may not be scholarly but it will save many abused people, I´m sure.
The book itself is quite well written and gets the point across in an easy to follow manner. Not because it is dumbed down but because the author writes clearly and with a certain purpose in mind.
I can see by the reviews here that this book has scared the psychopaths and this, to me, greatly recommends this book.
I want to say on slightly off topic thing before I leave. It is well known that abusive husbands/boyfriends will blame the couples problems on their spouse/girlfriend and accuse her of the very behavior he is guilty of. This often works and nets him all the support and pity that should go to his victim. These men are probably psychopaths.
Lissa (10/21/11)

Junk psychology for the uneducated
This is typical junk psychology. The author makes the same point again and again, citing different anecdotes from chapter to chapter. She attempts to elevate the fear factor and reader's interest by dramatizing the term "sociopath." The effect is to turn her readers into quasi-paranoid individuals looking for reasons to label others around them as genuinely evil. Read with caution.
jim (10/03/11)

Do the math
Actually Keith, one person in every 25 does equal 4. If you add up 25 four times, that makes 100; and there will be 4 persons out of 100 that fit the bill as full-blown sociopaths (one person for each group of 25.) That makes 4. However, these are just the clear and unambivalent cases. The rest of the population has tendencies either toward neurosis, or toward character disorders such as sociopathology or narcisism. It would be interesting to get a graph, scatter plot, or some type of visual depiction of the dispersal of psychological problems across the population, but it might be too scarey to look at.
Mary (09/21/11)

Excellent
I have been hurt twice by the same sociopath, the book helped me understand I wasn't losing my mind. Had no idea what a sociopath was before this. Amazing insights. I recommend this book to everyone.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...
  • Book Jacket: Shotgun Lovesongs
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler
    Nickolas Butler's debut novel, Shotgun Lovesongs, follows five life-long friends, now in their mid-...
  • Book Jacket: Gemini
    Gemini
    by Carol Cassella
    How good is Gemini, Carol Cassella's book about a Seattle intensive care physician who becomes ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  254Cartwheel:
    Jennifer duBois
  2.  143Happier at Home:
    Gretchen Rubin

All Discussions

Who Said...

Knowledge is of two kinds...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.