Sidney Sheldon biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Sidney Sheldon.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Sidney Sheldon

Sidney Sheldon

Sidney Sheldon Biography

Sidney Sheldon (Feb 11, 1917 - Jan 30, 2007) is one of the world's handful of top bestselling authors who have sold more than 250 million books. He is also the only writer to have won an Oscar, a Tony, and an Edgar, and one of the most translated writers in the world.

During his long life he enjoyed three careers —a Broadway playwright, a Hollywood TV and movie screenwriter, and a best-selling novelist. Some of his most famous TV works include I Dream of Jeannie (1965-70) and The Patty Duke Show (1963-66).  In his 50s he turned to novel-writing, creating bestselling novels such as Master of the Game (1982) and The Other Side of Midnight (1973).  He once declared that despite winning awards for scriptwriting, it was in writing novels that he had the most fun: his signature format was gutsy yet feminine women fighting for survival in a world of malevolent men. 

He was born Sidney Schechtel in Chicago, Illinois, to a German Jewish father and a Russian Jewish mother. He made his first sale, a poem for $10, at the age of 10.  He attended Northwestern University before moving to Hollywood in 1937 where he reviewed scripts and collaborated on a number of B-movies.

During World War II he served as a pilot in the War Training Service, a branch of the Army Air Corps,.  After the war he moved to New York where he began to write musicals while also writing screenplays for both MGM and Paramount.  By 1947 he was back in Hollywood where he won the Academy Award for best original screenplay of 1947 for The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer.

He produced The Patty Duke Show for seven years, writing almost every episode.  He also wrote the TV series Hart to Hart, Nancy and I Dream of Jeannie, which he created and produced for five seasons from 1965-1970.

He wrote his first novel while working on I Dream of Jeannie The Naked Face won the Best First Novel Edgar Allan Poe Award from the Mystery Writers of America. His next novel, The Other Side of Midnight, was a #1 New York Times bestseller, as were a number of his follow up novels, which were also made into movies or TV miniseries.  In addition, he published his memoirs, The Other Side of Me, in 2005 .

Sheldon was married to Jorja Curtright Sheldon for 30 years, a stage and film actress who later became a well known interior designer; she died in 1985 of a heart attack.  He then married Alexandra Kostoff, a former child actress and advertising executive, in 1989.

He died in California on January 30, 2007 at the age of 89.

Link to Sidney's website

This biography was last updated on 07/02/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An Interview with Sidney Sheldon

What did you do before you wrote your first novel?
I was busy writing other things. I wrote 28 motion pictures, 250 television scripts and 8 Broadway plays.

Did you expect your first novel, The Naked Face, to be a success?
I was certain that The Naked Face would break all literary records -- that it would not sell one single copy! I was so sure of it that I went into a bookstore and bought a copy. Since then, it has become a superstition. On the day that a new novel of mine comes out, I always go into a bookstore and buy one copy.

Is there much difference between writing a novel and a television series or movie?
There are differences among the various forms of the medium. A motion picture script is a kind of shorthand. You don't describe your leading man in detail because if you write that he is tall, lanky and laconic and Clint Eastwood turns you down and you give the script to Dustin Hoffman, you're in big trouble. So you merely characterize him as handsome or elderly or whatever the story calls for. You don't describe the rooms in details because the best set decorators in Hollywood are going to do those rooms.

The advantage of writing a motion picture is that the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sidney Sheldon at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Sky Is Falling
The Sky Is Falling

by Sidney Sheldon

A dynamite thriller filled with all the elements that have made his previous works phenomenal bestsellers.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sidney Sheldon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Mary Higgins Clark

    Mary Higgins Clark

    Mary Higgins Clark's books are world-wide bestsellers. In the U.S. alone, her books have sold over 80 million copies. She is the author of over twenty-five suspense novels, including Where Are the Children? (1975), A ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Sky Is Falling

    Try:
    Before I Say Goodbye
    by Mary Higgins Clark

  • Iris Johansen

    Iris Johansen

    Iris Johansen is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 15 novels. She began writing after her children left home for college. She first achieved success in the early 1980s writing category romances. In 1991, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Sky Is Falling

    Try:
    The Killing Game
    by Iris Johansen

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Hundred-Year House
    The Hundred-Year House
    by Rebecca Makkai
    Rebecca Makkai's sophomore novel The Hundred-Year House could just have easily been titled ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.