Talk of the Town: Book summary and reviews of Talk of the Town by Lisa Wingate

Talk of the Town

By Lisa Wingate

Talk of the Town

Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

The show American Megastar is the hottest thing on television but its associate producer, Mandalay Florentino, is worried. She's just arrived in the tiny town of Daily, Texas, to arrange a surprise "reunion concert" for hometown finalist Amber Amberson. Only it turns out everyone in town seems to know the secret. And paparazzi are arriving. Word from Hollywood is that Amber has disappeared with a "bad boy" actor. Can anything go right in this tumbleweed town?

Imagene Doll loves her town of Daily, Texas, but things are lonely without her beloved husband. Life seems dull. At least until that fancy-dressed woman pulls into town, looking terrified and glamorous all at once. Soon life's not the least bit boring as Imagene and the rest of Daily find themselves at the center of a media maelstrom…with a young girl's future on the line.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Lisa Wingate’s entrancing story was a delight to read. The adept way she interwove everyday dilemma’s that we face and the choices in life that we make was masterful. Talk of the Town is filled with integrity, love, faith and above all, hope when all seems hopeless. The Wholesome Characters will draw in old and young alike." – RomanceDesigns.com.

"The novel's Christian themes are incorporated quietly, as characters grow in grace without melodramatic conversions or bedside confessions. Fans of Anne Dayton and May Vanderbilt's brand of engaging, contemporary chick lit will enjoy this story." - Publishers Weekly.

The information about Talk of the Town shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Rated 4 of 5 of 5 by Linda
Talk of the Town Review
I chose this book because I am a transplanted resident of Texas, having come from Nebraska. I thought it was a sweet book and the characters are really fun. There isn't much substance here, just mindless entertainment, good for a night in front of the fireplace with a blanket and a kitty. Unfortunately, I haven't met anyone like the people in the book since I have lived in Houston --:)

Rated 4 of 5 of 5 by Julie
Surprise
When I got this book, I had low expectations. The cover and summary made the book seem like chick-lit, which is not at all my style. I was very ready to not like this book. So imagine my surprise when I found myself enjoying it. I loved how fully the author developed her characters, and I fell in love with all of them. She even made me appreciate small towns. This book was funny and heartwarming.
The story made me think a lot about a life lived without taking chances.

Rated 4 of 5 of 5 by Marta
Small town gossip...big city gossip
I really enjoyed reading Talk of the Town by Lisa Wingate. It was a sweet story and the plot was predictable. What I really liked was the characters. I wanted to actually meet the two main characters and be friends with them. It was a Christian book but wasn't preachy - just fun and full of truths to live by. I liked this book so much that I am going to read more of Ms. Wingate's books.

Rated 5 of 5 of 5 by Deb
A tickle your ribs sort of book by an outstanding Christian wordsmith
I loved this book, Talk of the Town, for a number of reasons, but the main ones are that Daily, TX, is a lot like my little town (I don't think it is a roman a clef), I really enjoy Lisa Wingate's writing, and the book was just downright fun to read. Some might consider the way the book jumps back and forth between viewpoints distracting, but I am not one of them:) It is a highly recommended book in this particular genre.

Rated 3 of 5 of 5 by Carolyn
Not exactly the talk of the town
This is a pleasant story told with humor. There are some interesting characters, although the reader never really learns very much about one significant man. The two main characters who narrate the book both refer occasionally to their belief in God, and the need to accept God's hand in their lives. I don't think this novel offers much fuel for book club discussion, but is fine for someone who wants to spend a few hours reading a light romance.

Rated 3 of 5 of 5 by Mary
Talk of the Town
I found this book to be a fun story. It reminded me of a cross between Lorna Landvik and Jan Karon's style of writing. There were a spots where I thought the story could move along a little quicker, however I was never actually bored. The author's description of characters was humorous and made me care about the outcome of the story.
Mary

...4 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Lisa Wingate is a popular inspirational speaker, magazine columnist, and national bestselling author of several books, including Tending Roses, Good Hope Road, The Language of Sycamores, and Drenched in Light. Her work was recently honored by the Americans for More Civility for promoting greater kindness and civility in American life. Her latest novel, Talk of the Town will be published by Bethany House in February 2008 as a paperback original.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

More Recently Published Novels

more...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Goldfinch
    The Goldfinch
    by Donna Tartt
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer for Fiction.

    Her canvas is vast. To frame a story about art, love and ...
  • Book Jacket: Toms River
    Toms River
    by Dan Fagin
    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for Nonfiction

    In Toms River, investigative journalist Dan Fagin ...
  • Book Jacket: The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
    by Gabrielle Zevin
    I feel like Gabrielle Zevin wrote this wonderful book, about a lonely New England bookstore owner ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  254Cartwheel:
    Jennifer duBois
  2.  170The Weight of Blood:
    Laura McHugh

All Discussions

Who Said...

What makes a book great...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

P Your O C

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.