Read what people think about The Clouds Beneath the Sun by Mackenzie Ford, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Clouds Beneath the Sun

By Mackenzie Ford

The Clouds Beneath the Sun
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2010,
    464 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Clouds Beneath the Sun
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

evelyn (03/24/11)

Disappointment
I couldn't get past the stilted writing style, the repetition and the way he has to explain everything. Other books tell you about societies without giving a formal lesson. A very mechanical book. Idea was very interesting, but in the end, I gave up at p.100 and then skipped to the last 2 chapters just to find out what happened in the end.
Chris G. (New Albany, Ohio) (08/12/10)

The Clouds Beneath the Sun
It's 1961 and we are in Kenya. Dr. Natalie Nelson has just arrived on an airstrip in the midst of the Serengeti to join an excavation team to begin the dig of her dreams. As an archeologist she is excited by the prospects but she is also taking the opportunity to flee dealing with the memories and pain of past trauma.

Little does she know she has stepped out of the frying pan and into the fire. Kenya is beginning its journey to independence, a controversy and a murder has turned up involving the local Masai people and the leader of the dig, Eleanor Deacon is watching an irreparable schism grow between her sons. And then there is Natalie's growing attraction to Jack that goes from passionate affair to turmoil when she is forced to present evidence in a trial that very well could lead to a rebellion.

The social upheaval of the times and the tribal customs of the Masai are well presented as are many of the dig protocols. I found the methodical pace to be daunting at times, but I suppose the pace echoes the care and slowness carried out on a dig. But one hopes for a little more speed in the delivery when dealing with murder as opposed to a procedural. All in all a good book but I am a bit undecided as to whether I would go for a second book by this author.
Alice W. (Sacramento, CA) (08/09/10)

Clouds Beneath the Sun
I chose this book because I have Masaai friends and have lived in a Masaai Village.

I found the descriptions of Kenya close to those in my memories. However the Masaai were not described as I think of them...of course, the story was set at pre-independence and I was there two years ago.

The story was relatively interesting, however the writer's methods were annoying to me. It seemed that he was writing a soap opera...as he periodically would inject a series of questions all lined up in a row such as: will she tell him the entire truth, when will the Land Rover arrive, who will come to the trial? What? This over and over as though we might put the book down at that point and return tomorrow , same time, same station and resume reading the story. This was definitely an odd writing technique.

I also tired of reading about the perspiration between Natalie's breasts. I wanted to float her a handkerchief to deal with the problem as it seemed to plague her no matter what the incident...that along with her hands going to her throat, or her recurring bouts with inner rage. Oh please...

The plot? well...pretty predictable except at the end.

Did I enjoy it...? Sort of...I didn't push aside other things in my life to get back to the book and read.
Terry (08/01/10)

The Clouds Beneath the Sun
This book is a great read in terms of the culture and history of Africa. It gave me an understanding of the conflicts of the African people in the 60's and I loved learning about the culture and customs of the Masai people. The political upheaval of the time is described very well. The character development and the emotional depth of the book, however, left me cold. We are never made to understand what motivates any of the characters and why they act as they do. Liked the book but wanted to see character development and emotion!
Christine S. (Highland, UT) (07/31/10)

Well Done!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It took me to a place with vivid imagery. It was educational and I feel like I know more about the 1960s in the political Kenyan setting, more about the beautiful landscape and wild animals of Africa, more about an excavating working archaeological team, more about tribal laws vs. written laws.

The story itself was secondary to all the other characteristics mentioned above. Waiting for the trial throughout over half of the book, turned out disappointing. The last chapters of the book were exciting, but it could have been written at a better pace. It felt as through the last chapters were packed into the book for tidying up all the loose ends.

All of this being said, I actually thought the story "might" have been based on an account of an actual dig. I haven't been able to find anywhere to prove my theory.

Well done!
Marta M. (Tustin, CA) (07/28/10)

The Clouds Beneath the Sun
I was intrigued with this book when I saw it on the First Impressions list. My daughter went to Kenya to work with Masai and Kikuyu orphans and had been there since January. This is how I like to learn culture and history, through a story. I enjoyed this book immensely but gave it a four because at times it dragged. With what my daughter was sharing with me I found the facts of the setting and the people to be spot on. I liked the writing and I thought the details of the dig to be enchanting.
Hilary H. (Tucson, AZ) (07/25/10)

The Clouds Beneath the Sun
I was anticipating liking this book as I've enjoyed a number of books set in various parts of Africa. Though I've not been to Kenya, I have been to other countries in southern Africa. The topic and setting were appealing. I found the first half of the book to be slow - a mix of historical fact, good description of the countryside, interesting views on politics and archaeology, and eventually a love story - but it could have moved a bit faster. Some of the characters are strongly developed though you are left wanting more about others. The trial near the end talked about the passion at the gorge but I think there could have been more about which to be really passionate. It was a good summer read. I liked it but didn't love it.
Barbara S. (Brick, NJ) (07/17/10)

Tell Me More
This is my first book trip to Kenya and it leaves me with a longing for more tales of the Maasai and their culture. Ordinarily I would not search for a book about archaeology but found this book utterly fascinating. The author transports you to the dig location, Kihara gorge, and paints a perfect picture even though I have never seen one. The story tied in beautifully with the setting. If you have a "passion" in life, this book is for you. I am adding this to my Book Club selections for 2011.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  158The City:
    Dean Koontz

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.