Douglas C. Waller biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Douglas C. Waller
Photo: douglascwaller.com

Douglas C. Waller

Douglas C. Waller Biography

Douglas Waller is a veteran magazine correspondent, author and lecturer. In almost two decades as a Washington journalist, he has covered the Pentagon, Congress, the State Department, the White House and the CIA for such prestigious publications as Time and Newsweek.

Waller is the author or co-author of eight books, including Wild Bill Donovan, Big Red: Three Months On Board A Trident Nuclear Submarine, and Air Warriors: The Inside Story of the Making of a Navy Pilot.

Born in Norfolk, Virginia on June 30, 1949, Waller holds a B.A. in English from Wake Forest University and an M.A. in Urban Administration from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. A former captain in the U.S. Army Reserve, he lives in Annandale, Virginia.

From the author's website

Douglas C. Waller's website

This bio was last updated on 01/08/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Douglas C. Waller at BookBrowse
Wild Bill Donovan jacket Air Warriors jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Douglas C. Waller but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • William Langewiesche

    William Langewiesche

    William Langewiesche is the international correspondent for Vanity Fair and prior to that was was a national correspondent for The Atlantic Monthly. A professional pilot for many years, he is the author of several books,... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Air Warriors

    Try:
    Inside The Sky
    by William Langewiesche

  • Frederick Libby

    Frederick Libby

    Frederick Libby was born in Sterling, Colorado and died in Los Angeles, California in 1970 leaving behind his memoir which was published in August, 2000 as Horses Don't Fly.

    Born and raised on a ranch in Sterling he ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Air Warriors

    Try:
    Horses Don't Fly
    by Frederick Libby

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Memorial Drive
    Memorial Drive
    by Natasha Trethewey
    On June 5, 1985, Natasha Trethewey's mother, Gwendolyn Turnbough, was murdered by her ex-husband, ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Devils Are Here
    All the Devils Are Here
    by Louise Penny
    In Louise Penny's All the Devils Are Here, the 16th book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: A Girl is A Body of Water
    A Girl is A Body of Water
    by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
    First Impressions readers were fascinated by A Girl Is a Body of Water, a riveting and nuanced novel...
  • Book Jacket
    Heaven, My Home
    by Attica Locke
    Attica Locke's 2017 novel Bluebird, Bluebird introduced us to Texas Ranger Darren Mathews, who ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke

    A new novel from the NY Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    A Girl is A Body of Water
    by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi

    A powerful portrait of a young Ugandan girl and her family.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Shadow King
by Maaza Mengiste

An unforgettable epic shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive
by Natasha Trethewey

The moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of tragedy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L N Take I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.