A B. Yehoshua biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

A B. Yehoshua
Photo: Dina Guna

A B. Yehoshua

How to pronounce A B. Yehoshua: Y-HOE-shua (the A is for Abraham, but he is always referred to as A.B.)

A B. Yehoshua Biography

One of Israel's preeminent writers, Abraham B. Yehoshua was born in Jerusalem in 1936 and today lives in Haifa. He is among the most widely recognized Israeli authors internationally, and is best known as a novelist and playwright. He has been awarded the Israel Prize, the Koret Jewish Book Award, and the National Jewish Book Award. Yehoshua's works include A Late Divorce, The Lover, Mr. Mani, and Open Heart.



This bio was last updated on 03/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An indepth interview with A. B. Yehoshua about his work, and in particular about A Woman In Jerusalem.

A. B. Yehoshua is one of Israel's truly world class writers. Born in Jerusalem in 1936, Yehoshua published his first short story collection 1962. Since that time he has published eight novels, as well as plays and non-fictional essays. Yehoshua's novels engage Israeli and Jewish history in inventive and surprising ways, and his new novel, A Woman in Jerusalem, set in Israel during the difficult days of the Second Palestinian Intifada, is no different. In addition to winning just about every literary prize in Israel, in 2005 Yehoshua was named a finalist for the Man Booker International Prize, putting him in a group that included five Nobel Prize winners.

Yehoshua recently made headlines here and in Israel after giving a talk at an American Jewish Committee event in which he questioned the limited natureof a diasporic Jewish identity, a stance Yehoshua has held for years. This opinion is neither trivial nor, for us American Jews, something easy to brush aside. But since Yehoshua earned such a platform for his views on Jewish identity in the first place thanks to his fiction, in this interview I sought to put his creative work back at the center.

I translated Yehoshua's answers from the Hebrew. ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by A B. Yehoshua at BookBrowse
The Retrospective jacket Friendly Fire jacket A Woman in Jerusalem jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for A B. Yehoshua but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Phillipe Claudel

    Phillipe Claudel

    Philippe Claudel is the author of many novels, among them By a Slow River, which has been translated into thirty languages and was awarded the Prix Renaudot in 2003 and the Elle Readers' Literary prize in 2004. His ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Woman in Jerusalem

    Try:
    By a Slow River
    by Phillipe Claudel

  • Rawi Hage

    Rawi Hage

    Rawi Hage was born in Beirut, Lebanon, and lived through nine years of the Lebanese civil war during the 1970s and 1980s. He immigrated to Canada in 1992 and now lives in Montreal. His first novel, De Niro's Game, won the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Woman in Jerusalem

    Try:
    De Niro's Game
    by Rawi Hage

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: All the Devils Are Here
    All the Devils Are Here
    by Louise Penny
    In Louise Penny's All the Devils Are Here, the 16th book in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: A Girl is A Body of Water
    A Girl is A Body of Water
    by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi
    First Impressions readers were fascinated by A Girl Is a Body of Water, a riveting and nuanced novel...
  • Book Jacket
    Heaven, My Home
    by Attica Locke
    Attica Locke's 2017 novel Bluebird, Bluebird introduced us to Texas Ranger Darren Mathews, who ...
  • Book Jacket: Transcendent Kingdom
    Transcendent Kingdom
    by Yaa Gyasi
    Yaa Gyasi's (pronounced "yah jessie") Transcendent Kingdom is, among other things, a meditation on ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke

    A new novel from the NY Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Shadow King
by Maaza Mengiste

An unforgettable epic shortlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize, and named a best book of the year by the New York Times.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Memorial Drive

Memorial Drive
by Natasha Trethewey

The moving, intimate story of a poet coming into her own in the wake of tragedy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L N Take I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.