Felix J. Palma biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Felix J. Palma.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Felix J. Palma

Felix J. Palma

Felix J. Palma Biography

Félix J. Palma was born in Spain in 1968. His first volume of short stories, El Vigilante de la Salamandra (The Lizard's Keeper) was published in 1998. He has published four other volumes of stories: Métodos de Supervivencia (Methods of Survival,1999), Las Interioridades (Interiors, 2002), Los Arácnidos (The Arachnids, 2003), and El Menor Espectáculo del Mundo (The World's Smallest Show, 2010).

His novels are La Hormiga que Quiso Ser Astronauta (The Ant that Wanted to Become an Astronaut, 2001), Las Corrientes Oceánicas (The Ocean Currents, winner of the 2005 Luis Berenguer Award for Novel), and El Mapa del Tiempo (The Map of Time, winner of the Ateneo de Sevilla Award 2008). His work has been translated into more than 25 languages. He has also worked as a columnist, literary critic and has given creative writing workshops.

Palma has won more than one hundred awards. The Map of Time is his first book to be published in English.

Link to Felix's website

This biography was last updated on 07/22/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Félix Palma on books and writing

Who are your favorite authors?
Julio Cortázar, [Jorge Luis] Borges, Daniel Pennac, Paul Auster, Martin Amis.

What are your five favorite books of all time?
Lolita (Nabokov), The Anubis Gates (Tim Powers), The Time Traveler's Wife (Audrey Niffenegger), Interview with the Vampire (Anne Rice), One Hundred Years of Solitude (Gabriel García Márquez).

Is there a book you love to reread?
Cuentos by Julio Cortázar

Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
That they must try to enjoy the process of writing, not just the fact of having a finished work.

What comment do you hear most often from your readers?
Give me back by money! Well… really, some people say to me: Thanks for making me dream.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Felix J. Palma at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

The Map of Time
The Map of Time

by Felix J. Palma

A skeptical H. G. Wells investigates time-travel mysteries including an aristocrat's love affair with a murdered prostitute from the past, a Victorian woman's escape to the future, and a plot to murder celebrated authors to steal their written works.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Felix J. Palma but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Mrs. Hemingway
    by Naomi Wood
    Naomi Wood's latest novel, Mrs. Hemingway, is a fictionalized biography covering in turn writer...
  • Book Jacket
    The Stranger on the Train
    by Abbie Taylor
    The opening chapter of Abbie Taylor's debut novel, The Stranger on the Train, took me right back to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Night Film
    by Marisha Pessl
    One of the central tenets of Hinduism states that the world as we know it is just an illusion –...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The City
by Dean Koontz

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

  1.  78Tomlinson Hill:
    Chris Tomlinson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.