Laura Carroll biography, plus links to book reviews and book excerpts from books by Laura Carroll.

Author Biography  |  Interview  |  Books by this Author  |  Readalikes

Laura Carroll

Laura Carroll

Laura Carroll Biography

Laura Carroll is an accomplished communicator and popular public speaker, author, and consultant on human behavior. She has her Master’s in Industrial Psychology, and has been a successful business consultant and seminar leader for the past fifteen years. She has provided lectures and symposiums on personal development skills, and her expertise includes conflict resolution, career development, layoff survival, improving management skills and leadership styles. She also has extensive experience in designing and writing educational programs, employee screening and selection materials, and designs employee motivational programs.

Laura’s efforts in counseling employees who are dealing with the trauma of a layoff resulted in the creation of a book, titled, Finding Fulfillment from the Inside Out: How to Unravel the Real You and Discover Your Purpose in Life. She has also been published in several major consumer and trade magazines.

Laura wrote Families of Two because she wanted to learn more about successful longtime married couples who did not have children by choice, to aid those who are deciding whether or not to have children, and to address the many assumptions and misconceptions often made about those who decide to be childfree. Laura and her husband of 12 years live in Oregon and have no children by choice.

Link to Laura's website

This biography was last updated on 10/16/2010.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

>An interview with Laura Carroll, conducted by Carol Dominy. First published in BellaOnline.com.

In the introduction to Families of Two: Interviews with Happily Married Couples without Children by Choice, author Laura Carroll describes her role as that of mid-wife, delivering the stories of the couples she interviewed to the printed page. Recently, I had the opportunity to ask Laura about her book, the couples she interviewed, and childfree marriage.

What inspired you to write this book?
A couple of years ago my husband and I wanted to find out about couples who had made the same choice as we did, and who had been married for awhile. We wanted to learn about lifelong marriages that did not include parenthood. When I could not find a book that addressed this topic directly, as a writer I decided to go find the couples myself!

Why is this topic important now?
The number of childfree couples is increasing. An estimated 14% of couples do not have children today, and this number is expected to increase to 20%, or to 1 in 5 couples by the year 2010. In 1975, 1 in 10 women did not have children. Today it is 1 in 5. The Census researchers I have talked to indicate that although they do not directly track the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Laura Carroll at BookBrowse

Recommended in Detail at BookBrowse

Families of Two
Families of Two

by Laura Carroll

Families of Two takes us into the lives of fifteen childfree couples and provides important answers to many of the questions faced by couples who are in the midst of deciding whether or not to have children, and those couples who have already made the decision to be 'childfree'.
Read More

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Laura Carroll but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Gray

    John Gray

    John Gray, Ph.D., is the author of Mars and Venus on a Date, a follow-up to his phenomenal bestselling book Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus, which has sold more than 6 million copies in the United States ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Families of Two

    Try:
    Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus
    by John Gray

  • Author Image Not Available

    Cheryl Jarvis

    Cheryl Jarvis is a freelance journalist who has written more than one hundred published articles. Her articles and essays have appeared in a wide range of publications, including the Chicago Tribune, the Wall Street Journal... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Families of Two

    Try:
    The Marriage Sabbatical
    by Cheryl Jarvis

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and amibtious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.