MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Write your own review of In The Company of Cheerful Ladies by Alexander McCall Smith, read other people's reviews and browse a book excerpt from In The Company of Cheerful Ladies.

In The Company of Cheerful Ladies

by Alexander McCall Smith

In The Company of Cheerful Ladies by Alexander McCall Smith X
In The Company of Cheerful Ladies by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2005, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

What do you think? Write a review of this book!

Reader Review

Please focus your review on what you think of the book and why you recommend/don't recommend it. Please do not summarize the plot or give plot spoilers of any type or we will not be able to post your review. Please click here to read the review guidelines.

Teachers: Please do not assign your class to post book reports on BookBrowse. We cannot accept book reports. See guidelines for more on this.

 

  • A valid email address is required in order to post a review, but it will not display online
  • Please read and check the box below to indicate your agreement:

    • The name I have used in this review is my real name (or my preferred screen name). I am not attempting to pass myself off as another person.
    • This review expresses my own personal opinion. I have not been asked to post it by the author, their publishing company or anyone connected with the book or author.
    • My email address is valid. I understand that it will not be displayed but agree that, if necessary, BookBrowse can contact me at the address to verify a review.
    • I understand that all reviews are posted at the discretion of BookBrowse, and may be edited or deleted. BookBrowse's aim is to display all reviews exactly as they are posted, but there are exceptions. Click for details.
    • By submitting this review I give BookBrowse the right to display & distribute this review, and my displayed name, in any media, royalty-free.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins
    by Katarina Bivald

    A heartwarming story of love, friendship, and the art of living.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.