Summary and book reviews of The Readers Catalog by Geoffrey O'Brien

The Readers Catalog

An Invaluable, Lively, Erudite and Readable Resource for Book Lovers...

by Geoffrey O'Brien

The Readers Catalog
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Feb 1997, 1382 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The definitive source for readers looking to build a great library. This second edition, published in 1997, has annotations on over 40,000 titles.

With annotations on more than 40,000 of the best books in print, The Reader's Catalog is the definitive source for readers looking to build a great library. This second edition, published in 1997, is the work of writers, scholars, and critics who contributed their comments to this massive and authoritative reference.

BookBrowse selects from the best and most popular books and features a substantial excerpt of each, usually a full chapter.

The excerptions to this rule are a handful of 'reading guide' books (including this title). In this case, BookBrowse has included the book even though an excerpt was unavailable because we feel it has a contribution to make to this relatively specialized category.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Choice - D.G. Davis

Users of the 1989 version will note some small changes (sequence of the divisions and stylistic matters) and some major ones (layout of pages and the form of the indexes). . . . Like the first edition, this work is designed to sell books, but the titles in one division illustrate its dilemma. 'Religion, Spirituality & Philosophy' provides ample coverage of non-Christian religions, but while no mention is made of the most popular modern English Bible (the New International Version), there is an entry for William Tyndale's translation of 1525. The history of Protestantism lists only four titles (one of them The Book of Common Prayer), but there are six for alchemy (formerly under 'New Age' in the 'Practical Advice' division). Nearly all the titles were published by major commercial publishers, while denominational and smaller publishers are ignored. Emphasis rests on the exotic and bizarre at the expense of mainstream material. . . . This book industry index to the current taste of popular reviewers is significant as a cultural document but of limited use to academic libraries.

Newsday

The catalog is discriminating yet expansive, a feat of editing that anyone who has wasted time rooting out data in the weeds of the Internet will appreciate.

Union-Tribune San Diego

The idiosyncratic nature of The Reader's Catalog is what makes it so iresistible -- and valuable.

The New York Times - Christopher Lehmann-Haupt

The most attractively laid out and compactly informative guide that I know of to books that are currently in print.

Los Angeles Times

A catalogue that is both scholarly and accessible, that challenges the reader without overwhelming, that skirts the academic but refuses to pander to popular taste. By the manner in which The Reader's Catalog presents what is essentially an attractively annotated list of books, it must be called a triumph.

Author Blurb Geraldine Brooks
This best-books guide is an enlarged and updated version of a work first published in 1989. Arranged topically (e.g., 'Science-Mathematics-Number Theory'), the catalog covers all areas of knowledge, including fiction. . . . The titles listed have been selected by about 140 writers and academics.

Reader Reviews

simon peter

I have used this book as a guide to teach myself about the world and found it 's recommendations reliable in regard to interest and readibility. Its topical organization is also helpful. Good job.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Readers Catalog, try these:

  • How To Read And Why jacket

    How To Read And Why

    by Harold Bloom

    Published 2001

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Bloom's engaging prose and brilliant insights will send you hurrying back to old favorites and entice you to discover new ones. His ultimate faith in the restorative power of literature resonates on every page of this infinitely rewarding and important book.

  • For The Love Of Books jacket

    For The Love Of Books

    by Ronald B. Shwartz

    Published 2000

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    More than one hundred famous writers have contributed original essays in response to the question: What books have left the greatest impression on you and why?

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.