MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of Reading Group Journal by Martha Burns

Reading Group Journal

Notes In The Margin

by Martha Burns

Reading Group Journal by Martha Burns X
Reading Group Journal by Martha Burns
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 1999, 192 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

This charming fill-in journal will be an invaluable resource and keepsake for anyone who already belongs to a reading group, and an inspiration to anyone who wants to join or organize one.

Reading group members show up at meetings with their books highlighted and dog-eared. Some carry battered spiral notebooks; others dig through their handbags for scribbled notes. Reading Group Journal now offers a handy and handsome alternative. Filled with useful information and stimulating quotes, this attractive notebook also provides ample space to record all the practical information needed to participate in a reading group.

An introduction providing tips about how to make the group both pleasurable and productive is followed by inspiring lists of recommended reading and winners of important literary prizes, from the National Book Award to the Booker. Additional pages provide places to jot down names and addresses, meeting schedules, and information about the next book to read. Each book read by the group is allotted several pages for note taking and record keeping, with plenty of room for personal reflections and group observations. And finally, there are fill-in pages for the reader to use in creating a personal record: a list of books to read, a log of books already read, a record of books lent, a compendium of interesting words, and a selection of memorable quotes.


(192 pages, 7 inches square, spiral bound - with room for 18 books.)


From the Authors
My sister and I live on opposite sides of the country but we did not let that stop us when we came up with the idea for our journal for reading group members. The actual idea come to us while we were attending the Southwest Writers Workshop Conference in our hometown of Albuquerque. We couldn't wait to get back to our respective coasts to get to work on our project which we knew we would name, "Notes in the Margin."

We knew that readers have a need to articulate where a book has taken them and we knew that countless people were getting together in reading groups and could use a journal to keep account of their groups, their meetings, their reading list and their reflections.

So we set out to create a place where the avid reader could keep track of all their book related information. But more importantly, we wanted to create a place for the reader to keep track of their reflections on a book read and a book shared. We think that in keeping the journal the reader becomes the writer and the journal becomes a keepsake.

In "Smillia's Sense of Snow" Peter Hoeg wrote, "You can learn a lot about your fellow human beings from what they write in the margin." We agree and we also believe that a person who reads, shares, and then writes comes to a fuller understanding. We believe that "Notes in the Margin" allows the reader to more fully participate in the reading circle. We wish you each the joy of a book read and a book shared.

Because this book is a journal for you to complete it does not lend itself to being excerpted here!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Reader Reviews

Vicki

Great idea- a true readers journal with space to keep reflections on your reading. And it is a beautiful little keepsake. As a bonus the journal includes unique reading lists--and hard to find lists. It also includes lists for the reader to ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Reading Group Journal, try these:

  • The Know-It-All jacket

    The Know-It-All

    by A. J. Jacobs

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Part memoir and part education (or lack thereof), The Know-It-All chronicles NPR contributor A.J. Jacobs's hilarious, enlightening, and seemingly impossible quest to read the Encyclopaedia Britannica from A to Z.

  • A Word A Day jacket

    A Word A Day

    by Anu Garg

    Published 2003

    About this book

    Written by the founder of the wildly popular A Word A Day web site (www.wordsmith.org), this collection of unusual, obscure, and exotic English words will delight writers, scholars, crossword puzzlers, and word buffs of every ilk.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.